We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dunedin & Academy Court Motels
Ranked #57 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Expected more...”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We were going to stay a number of nights in Dunedin, but what a big let down. The room we were in was very dark and we needed the light on during the day. Awesome location though, you can leave the car and walk everywhere. There was a hair in the dish washing sponge, which really put me off. Quite expensive for what you get. Will go elsewhere next time I'm there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valiantranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    14
    19
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
11
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Friendly host. Lovely and clean. Near enough to city centre to leave car and walk to shops/restaurants/attractions but far enough away not to be noisy. Very large accommodation for the price and supplied everything you could possibly need if you were a family staying here (we were a couple). Highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueMM186334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights as there was a lot we wanted to do in Dunedin. There is lots to see such as the butterflies at the Museum, Cadbury's factory tour and Speights Brewery tour.

Once again we were not disappointed with our accommodation. A large upstairs room with a separate lounge and bedroom. Large comfortable bed.

Situated close to city and within walking distance of Railway station. Restaurants also close by.

Really can't stress enough how we enjoy staying in ASURE motels and this one is no exception.

When we were staying in Queenstown,(will review them later), I received a phone call from ASURE Dunedin and Academy advising that we had left our camera charger in our room. They forwarded it to us in Queenstown at no charge to us.

Excellent service and recommend to travellers. We also used our first $100 of a night's stay here.

ASURE have a loyalty program where you stay 9 nights at 3 a minimum of 3 different locations and you receive $100 of your 10th night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit which although not overly modern was clean and comfortable. The motel is quiet considering it runs between two busy roads. The staff at the office are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have stayed at this complex many times mainly just for 1 or 2 nights passing through Dunedin or just for a weekend. Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms clean and fine for a short term stay. In need of a wee makeover but very close to the CBD and restaurants and shops less than 15 mins walk so a big plus. Plenty of parking spaces. Suits us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RodneyInvercargill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Ok for a night. Studio room clean and all facilities there to use. All clean. Have used the larger units in past or larger family and write ok. Great to have 3 bedroom units available. Paper late delivery. Room cosy and warm. Convenient to CBD. Given complimentary wifi. Good speed.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ElvisInvercargill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We booked the 3-bedroom unit that can sleep 7 people. It was a two-storey units. The outside of the unit looked really nice and cosy.

The unit was OK. Met the basic requirements of a stay. But nothing fantastic. The decor and appliances were dated. There was a heater which looked old. The toilet was clean but very 1980s, like my parents' generation.

If one is looking for a very simple and basic stay, I would recommend this motel. Since our family is only staying for one night (less than half-a-day stay), we were pretty satisfied.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aprilngern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.0 mi away
The Sahara Guesthouse & Motel
0.3 mi away
Cumberland Motel
Cumberland Motel
#59 of 61 in Dunedin
21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Allan Court Motel
Allan Court Motel
#29 of 61 in Dunedin
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
538 Great King Motel
538 Great King Motel
#18 of 61 in Dunedin
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Owens Motel
Owens Motel
#54 of 61 in Dunedin
42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 61 in Dunedin
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunedin & Academy Court Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunedin & Academy Court Motels

Property: Dunedin & Academy Court Motels
Address: 624 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunedin & Academy Court Motels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dunedin & Academy Court Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing