We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Taieri Gorge Railway
Save
  
Ways to Experience Taieri Gorge Railway
from $1,737.81
More Info
from $1,795.61
More Info
Reviews (2,070)
Filter reviews
2,070 results
Traveler rating
1,262
565
179
40
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,262
565
179
40
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buffet car train trip great trip train manager great scenery dunedin station hour trip return journey interesting commentary cruise ship take photos recommend this trip taieri gorge viewing platform new zealand visiting dunedin port chalmers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 2,070 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2019

Based on many good reviews we decided it was worth including this trip in our daily activities in Dunedin. Found I agree with " Teagle's" review as wasnt that exciting. It maybe better doing it before the Tranz Alpine Train as scenery on that we found a lot more spectacular. Right at the top of the gorge was more interesting but a long way to get there on a very uncomfortable train with very little leg room if tall. Would rate ok.
Train station in Dunedin is worth visiting as an exceptionally beautiful historic buildjng

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Michelle I
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2019

Scenery is spectacular once the mountains are reached after about an hour across the Canterbury plain but as the train twists and turns you often have to be quick if you wish to take photos, particularly of the viaducts. Best place is on the little platforms between the carriages.

As with all NZ trains it is narrow gauge and the locomotive is a diesel, so just traveling on the train was special, let alone the scenery and the commentary.

Even if you don't take the train trip, the Dunedin Station is well worth a visit with its stone work and very long iron platform roof.

We did the afternoon trip in early May and so the latter part of the return journey was in the dark. Probably best in the late autumn and winter to take the morning trip if available.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank darrylgobbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2019

A wonderfully nostalgic trip on a railway from yesteryear in a period carriage on a line that is breathtaking in its scenery and mind blowing for its engineering complexity. The construction of those viaducts, tunnels and cuttings would challenge the technology of today but stand as testimony to the optimism, skills and dogged determination of those who created them

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2019

We did this trip from Dunedin to Pukerangi return, after doing the Otago Cycle Trail. The train is made up of several different types of carriages - from historic to modern. We were in the oldest carriage which certainly had historic interest for us. As the train headed off we went exploring the other carriages and found that ours was very rattly and noisy (understandably) compared to the modern ones. We were able to relocate to more comfortable seats with much better viewing windows because the train was not very full.

Unfortunately the weather closed in so we did not get to see much the fabulous scenery of the Taieri Gorge, but the commentary was great.

We would recommend that you do this trip on a fine day to get the best value for your money, and don't forget to check if a cruise ship is in because you might struggle to get tickets! Another tip - take some cash with you if you want to buy food/drinks because the eftpos sometimes doesn't work where cellphone coverage is a bit unreliable in the remote parts of the trip.

If you are planning to do the Otago Cycle Trail it's a great opportunity to do the Taieri Gorge trip one-way to Dunedin when you finish the cycle trail in Middlemarch. That's what the Prof and I would do next time.n

Other points - plenty of parking at Dunedin Railway Station. Take a bit of extra time to explore the station - it is a beautiful building of historic importance to NZ.

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank DocJazzandProfGazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2019

I’ve done train trips around NZ, but I found the Taieri Gorge trip a little boring. Ho hum, there and back. I’m a NZer and maybe I’m spoilt with seeing our beautiful scenery, but the Gorge didn’t really excite me. Coffee machine wasn’t working, commentary good.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Teagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews