We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Middlemarch trip was great”

Taieri Gorge Railway
Book In Advance
More Info
$118.27*
and up
Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing
More Info
$65.23*
and up
Taieri Gorge Railway from Dunedin
More Info
$32.26*
and up
Dunedin Cruise Ships Shore Excursions
Ranked #3 of 51 Tours in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A highlight of your visit to Dunedin is a trip on the Taieri Gorge Railway - one of the world's great train trips and one of Dunedin's top attractions. Departing daily from downtown Dunedin into the Taieri Gorge, this trip travels through some of New Zealand's most beautiful and ever changing scenery which can not seen from the road! With sightseeing stops, on board cafe, outside viewing platforms it is the perfect all weather activity and one of the key attractions in Dunedin - not to be missed.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

My mother and I very much enjoyed the train ride to Middlemarch. The gorge is beautiful and the history of the railway and Otago is best learned on a tour such as this. It is a bit pricey but worth it if it's the only way you can really get out to see some less-traveled natural areas (such as with an elderly parent or young children). The morning trip to Middlemarch is nice because you can have lunch there. The train made two stops, one on the way there and one on the return trip, for passengers to disembark and take photos.

Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayBond, Public Relations Manager at Taieri Gorge Railway, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Hi there and thanks for taking the time to review Taieri Gorge Railway on trip advisor.
We are fortunate indeed that the train travels through country that you will never ever see if you are never lucky enough to travel with us. The gorge is totally inacessible to traffic other than the train and the scenery is unique to Otago and Central Otago.
Middlemarch is a great little town and yes, there are two cafes you can have lunch in but if you miss out on this then you can use the cafe on baord the train which has some pretty yummy food and awesome coffee too!
Thanks once again and we hope you might ride with us again!
Barbara Reid, Marketing Manager, Taieri Gorge Railway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,176 - 1,180 of 1,551 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2014

Enjoyed the whole experience unfortunately the weather was a little bit unkind.
Great train carriages and commentary throughout.
Need to understand that you are going for a train ride as the experience not to arrive at some venue where there are other attractions!

Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayBond, Public Relations Manager at Taieri Gorge Railway, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Hello and thanks for taking the time to review the Taieri Gorge Railway. We are glad that you enjoyed your trip. We are lucky because the trip is an all weather trip so it does not really matter if the weather is not fine and sunny. Even on a rainy day the gorge is stunning.

Thanks for pointing out that Pukerangi is not exactly a sprawling metropolis. It is almost like our train is a 'train bound for nowhere' which is the beauty of it - Pukerangi is an amazing place with nothing around for miles and of course, the trip is not about the destination but the journey itself.
Thanks and we hope to see you aboard another time.
Barbara Reid, Marketing Manager, TGR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Beautiful scenery, staff were really helpful and informative. Would have loved to have done the longer trip but unfortunately was the wrong day.

Thank hthedragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayBond, Public Relations Manager at Taieri Gorge Railway, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Hello and thanks for your review! Many people say Taieri Gorge railway is the highlight of their trip which is why the trip is one of the top Dunedin attractions. I am sorry you were not here on a Friday or Sunday when the train extends the journey all the way to Middlemarch. Middlemarch is a popular trip with cyclists as it is the beginning of the Central Otago Rail Trail! However, the trip you took to Pukerangi is our most popular tour because it is four hours long - a nice half day tour.
Thanks once again - we hope to see you aboard another time.
Barbara Reid, Marketing Manager, TGR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The train trip up the Taieri Gorge was fantastic. We struck it on a beautiful day and the scenery was stunning. The history of the gorge was fascinating and the commentary was very informative.

Thank SalNZ1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayBond, Public Relations Manager at Taieri Gorge Railway, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Hi there and thanks for you review of Taieri Gorge Railway. I am happy you enjoyed your trip with us. The gorge is beautiful on a sunny day but don't worry if it raining or cloudy - you will still get really good views of the gorge.
Thanks once again for taking the time to review TGR.
Barbara Reid, Marketing Manager, Taieri Gorge Railway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is the second time I've traveled on this attraction (ten years apart) and I'm still confused by the mixed messages this visitor attraction sends out. Its ostensible appeal seems to rest on two things: the train experience and the scenery. However in practice the scenery is pretty ordinary until you get up into the mountain cuttings and even then sucks for you if your seat is on the left hand side going up and the right hand side going down, because all you'll see is passing grass and cuttings. The gorge itself is best experienced from the open platforms at each end of the carriages, but then there's room for only one person to take photos. Okay many folk might get hooked by the gorge scenery, but others may be less so especially overseas visitors with experience of train travel through (e.g.) The Rockies, Switzerland, Austria, even Scotland etc.. Apart from the very informative brochure, the "train buff" experience falls well short of modern competitive overseas railroad attractions. At a personal level, my partner and I were assigned to one of the "older" carriages. Big mistake. The seats are narrow and hard with minimal leg room once two other visitors squashed in opposite...think London Underground in the rush hour. Older carriages also have small windows making good views ironically difficult. Thanks to a booking stuff-up we were shifted to a more modern carriage...relief at last! On the way back, most folk around us seemed to have had enough and ignored the scenery and began to socialize intensively...most enjoyable. The commentator struggled on manfully all the way up the line talking about rocks and trees and viaducts but after about 40 minutes unless it was something especially notable, I think most folk tuned him out. Thankfully on the way back, he had little to say. The old chap who was our conductor was an absolute hoot with his laid-back dry humor and whatever he gets paid, it ain't enough...he injected huge fun into the experience. Big ups for the delightful Genevieve who did her on-train job with diligence. My suggestion is to amp up the rail buff experience and put the scenery as a low second place as a marketing positioning...there are plenty of other such attractions overseas to benchmark against. As a Kiwi, the gorge scenery is good, but not stellar and I fear many overseas visitors with experience of local and overseas mountain vistas would agree...maybe.

6  Thank Gaston G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayBond, Public Relations Manager at Taieri Gorge Railway, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Hello and thank you for taking the time to review Taieri Gorge Railway. I am sorry that our train trip did not meet your expectations. We have had many many overseas passengers who have travelled with us who have travelled on trains all over the world and have rated the scenery very highly. However, we do not expect everyone to think the scenery is as spectacular as we do.
However, I am glad you found our staff to be entertaining and helpful.
Hope we see you back on board another time - maybe try the Seasider next time which offers excellent views around the pretty cliff tops over the Pacific Ocean.
Barbara Reid, Marketing Manager, TGR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taieri Gorge Railway also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Taieri Gorge Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing