We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Intriguing drive and pretty peninsula, admission to see birds too high” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Albatross Centre

The Royal Albatross Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
$135.90*
and up
Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula Wildlife Tour
Ranked #11 of 104 things to do in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The only chance to see... the world's only mainland Royal Albatross Breeding Colony. A unique experience to access the nature reserve to see giant albatross court, mate, raise their chicks and show off their three metre wingspans. Taiaroa Head/Pukekura is alive with wildlife species, many of them scarce nesting seabirds. Our jewel in the crown is the Northern Royal Albatross. Experience it for yourself by taking a guided tour through the Nature Reserve into the viewing Observatory. The 2012 latest Lonely Planet publication "1000 Ultimate Sights" features the Royal Albatross Centre alongside the Taj Mahal and Grand Canyon. They say of us: Here at one of New Zealand's hottest attractions the draw card is the bird life. Taiaroa Head is the site of the world's only mainland royal albatross breeding ground, where you can observe the spectacle of the albatrosses with wingspans of up to 3m coming in to land like a succession of 747s. The Royal Albatross Centre is located on the tip of the Otago Peninsula, about a 45 minute drive from Dunedin. We are operated by the Otago Peninsula Trust, a charitable trust formed in 1967 for the protection of the local natural environment. The Nature Reserve on Taiaroa Head is managed by the Department of Conservation. Taiaroa Head is also famous in New Zealand history. From a small Maori camp in the 1300s to a fortified pa where the Treaty of Waitangi was signed in 1840; from a wooden flagstaff to 1864 lighthouse to radar entrance for Otago Harbour; from an 1880s underground fortress to a large defence base in WWII. Taiaroa Head is today a Nature Reserve and an iconic wildlife attraction.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Intriguing drive and pretty peninsula, admission to see birds too high”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

It's a crazy winding drive along the bay to get to Otage Peninsula ......very pretty ....the Peninsula is a nice spot with good views. If you are fortunate you will see some of the Albatross flying about from the viewing area by the platforms, but no guarantees, we saw one fly over. If you want to to the very point of the peninsula you need to pay the excessive $49 fee for adults and additinal charges for kids as mentioned by others ..... that will guarantee you see the adults with some chicks, young birds assuming it is the right time of year.
Nice spot, we passed on seeing the adults and young birds ...they need to get a more reasonable price on this attraction. You can go inside the center and see videos for something like $5 and they will apply that to a merchandise purchase so that is a nice gesture, but the real show is over priced.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank FOURteener14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OtagoPeninsulaTrust, Public Relations Manager at The Royal Albatross Centre, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi FOURteener14.

Thank you for your feedback regarding entry price at the Royal Albatross Centre. We feel the prices charged are in line with the value your receive and that they are similar to the prices you would expect to pay for a fully-guided tour at other attractions in the area. We are operated by a charitable trust and all of the funds raised through tours and retail is reinvested back in to the conservation and protection of the colony for current and future generations. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Dunedin and that we see you back here soon for a tour.

Regards, Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    686
    343
    150
    63
    40
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The benefit of a windy day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Amazing to watch the parent birds sailing in to feed their young. The gracefulness and care as they landed nearby to their young so they could feed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Oropi1477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

We had a great time here, as stated in our post for the peninsula we went to the Royal Albatross Center and the staff was great, especially allowing us in without paying! Gotta love the people of New Zealand (kiwi's)!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank wineman1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Way WAY too Expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

This was an activity I wanted to see, but the price was excessive, $49 for adults and still expensive for kids. When we figured we were going to be spending over $130 to see this activity we had to bow out. I'm a biologist, so you know I wanted to see this, but for a family, that's excessive. I realize it is for a good cause. However this is obviously this is only an activity for those with deep pockets and not a family on a budget. For what they offer IMHO this activity should have been offered for a third of the cost.

There is a good little center here as well andwhich they charge a more reasonable price for that $5, which they discount on purchases

That said the view from below the parking lot is great, lots of Albatross activity although I didn't see any Royals.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humpty Doo, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Albatross centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Fantastic afternoon had observing the birds on their nests. The centre was a great interactive learning experience for all age groups I found. Had a wonderful time there and recommended it to my fellow travellers.

Visited July 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Dale G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Albatross Centre also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to The Royal Albatross Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing