We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great opportunity to see yellow eyed penguins”
Review of Penguin Place

Penguin Place
Book In Advance
More Info
$143.62*
and up
Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula Wildlife Tour
Ranked #11 of 109 things to do in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Penguin Place is a private conservation effort to help save the world's most endangered penguin, the Yellow Eyed Penguin. Visitors are taken on guided walking tours through a unique system of trenches and hides to view the penguins undisturbed at close range. Penguin Place is funded 100% by the support of our visitors, this funding enables habitat restoration, predator control, a research programme and on-site rehabilitation for sick, starving and wounded penguins. It is our hope that through our efforts, the future of this rare and wonderful penguin will be assured.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
176 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great opportunity to see yellow eyed penguins”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We enjoyed the tour and talk about the yellow eyed penguins. We also visited a hospital where they are helping penguins recover from various problems.

The blinds are set up so that you can see the penguins in their natural habitat.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank chasemarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penguinplace, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Place, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Great opportunity to see and help Yellow Eyed Penguins - sounds like a 5* experience! Many thanks for your support, this project is completely financed through proceeds of the guided tours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    437
    142
    44
    20
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loads of info and saw many penguins!”
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

This is a cool thing to do if you are in the area. The road to get their is the crazy part. We had a great guide (Emma) who truly loved what she did and enjoyed showing people around the conserve. We loved that we got to get a great tour while our money went to helping these endangered animals. The set up is great with many opportunities to see penguins. We saw them coming in for the day and then coming up the hills to their homes. On the way we saw quite a few tiny blue penguins in their boxes. Then our guide took us down into the tunnels and lookouts and we got to see more up close. Definitely worth it and so glad we did it. Plus she had great stories about the different penguins in the conserve.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Masdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penguinplace, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Place, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Wow, thanks for the review - we are thrilled to hear you had such a great time and will pass on your feedback to Emma. (we think she is pretty cool too!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Penguin Place worth a look!”
Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

We had a great time on our visit to penguin place. Our 4 yr old & 19mth old loved it & were delighted to see some wild penguins up close. The "hides" are amazing, especially from a higher vantage point looking down to see them laid out below. Such a lot of work has gone into preserving a natural habitat for these stunning little animals.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mphills05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penguinplace, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Place, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Indeed a whole lot of work has gone in to protect this precious species, all of which has been made possible by the support of our visitors! Plenty of work still to come, the Yellow Eyed Penguin is still sadly in decline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Penguins galore”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The tour begins with watching the penguins at their preserve that are being cared for. It's wonderful to see them close up. And then you go across the peninsula to see the penguins in the wild. There are many man-built burrows from which to view the penguins and during the right time of year you will see many. We only saw a few, but we were prepared for that because of the time of year. We did get to see many seals, too, and that was fun. The views alone are worth the trip!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamanimalrescue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penguinplace, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Place, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Keep in mind that these penguins are the only anti-social penguin and also an endangered species! You will always see something here at Penguin Place, but not masses like with other penguin species. Viewing is intimate and you will leave with a real understanding about this penguin and their conservation issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algoma, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hoiho”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is the name of the yellow eyed penguin. The Penguin Place exists to preserve these penguins and provide a place for them to safely nest. The tour took us through trenches dug to make viewing the penguins possible without disturbing them. They are very shy and not social like the other penguins. Our guide was terrific and had radio contact with other guides. She was able to change our route as we went to see several of the penguins come up the beach. The staff was very helpful when we booked our tour. They recommended the best time of day and we were very pleased with our time slot. We went late in the day and saw a lot of penguins. They are doing wonderful things for these penguins.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wisconsinron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penguinplace, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Place, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thanks for the lovely review, you have summed things up very nicely. We are glad you had such a positive experience and that the guide went the extra mile for you!

We are able to do these wonderful things for these penguins because of the support from our visitors- thanks for chosing to visit Penguin Place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penguin Place also viewed

 

Been to Penguin Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing