We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!!!!!”
Review of Penguin Place

Penguin Place
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$143.23*
and up
Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula Wildlife Tour
Ranked #11 of 109 things to do in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Penguin Place is a private conservation effort to help save the world's most endangered penguin, the Yellow Eyed Penguin. Visitors are taken on guided walking tours through a unique system of trenches and hides to view the penguins undisturbed at close range. Penguin Place is funded 100% by the support of our visitors, this funding enables habitat restoration, predator control, a research programme and on-site rehabilitation for sick, starving and wounded penguins. It is our hope that through our efforts, the future of this rare and wonderful penguin will be assured.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
118 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great!!!!!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

It was a great experience. Loved seeing the penguins up close. The staff were great and you could tell they are a very dedicated group.

Stephanie, our guide was wonderful.

Don't miss this opportunity to help the penguins.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MsJLaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penguinplace, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Place, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We value your support and feedback! Steph certainly knows her conservation and we are glad you enjoyed the experience you had with her and Penguin Place!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    437
    142
    44
    20
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Koblenz, Germany
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a French zoologist give us an entertaining and impassioned run-down on the ecological situation before the rushed along the "tunnels" to get really close to a number of yellow-eyed penguins. Worth every cent, though the overall conservation picture is depressing.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank bco49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penguinplace, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Place, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Absolutely superb! Thanks for the kind words! Your guide Victor is a very passionate and entertaining guy, sounds like he managed to get you to the "right place at the right time" We appreciate your support and we do our best to give the wildlife the best chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Loved the Little Guys”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Very informative and interesting. You get to get up close and personal and see these guys in their natural setting.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank OhioJ44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penguinplace, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Place, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We are pleased you found our tour both interesting and informative! We always enjoy our time in the Reserve and there is always something beautiful happening out there!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Don't miss the opportunity to say these rare but remarkable creatures. Staff are very well informed and make the visit very interesting and informative.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sheilanorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penguinplace, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Place, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Very well summed up in a few words! What more could you possibly say?! Thanks for your support and for letting Trip Advisor know your feelings! "Brilliant"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Yellow eyed penguins at close encounter”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

informative guide, penguin hospital, then see the penguins in their natural habitat by walking through camouflaged tunnels, Basic but o.k. accommodation with nice seating areas and views.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank trishann4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penguinplace, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Place, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Nice of you to share your thoughts, our guides are informative and it sounds like you were lucky enough to see some penguins in our hospital also!
Penguin Place lodge (accomodation) is a separate venture- perhaps you would have rated the Penguin tour with 5 stars?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penguin Place also viewed

 

Been to Penguin Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing