We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good opportunity to watch penguins”
Review of Penguin Place

Penguin Place
Book In Advance
More Info
$135.14*
and up
Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula Wildlife Tour
More Info
$129.54*
and up
Dunedin City and Otago Peninsula Small-Group Tour
More Info
$122.54*
and up
Full-Day Wildlife Tour from Dunedin
Ranked #13 of 112 things to do in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Penguin Place is a private conservation effort to help save the world's most endangered penguin, the Yellow Eyed Penguin. Visitors are taken on guided walking tours through a unique system of trenches and hides to view the penguins undisturbed at close range. Penguin Place is funded 100% by the support of our visitors, this funding enables habitat restoration, predator control, a research programme and on-site rehabilitation for sick, starving and wounded penguins. It is our hope that through our efforts, the future of this rare and wonderful penguin will be assured.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

A great way to learn more about penguins and their habitat. We were impressed by the unwavering commitment to protect these animals and give the public an opportunity to view and learn about these lovely birds.

Thank pineapple_girl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penguinplace, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Place, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thanks for supporting us and we appreciate your kind feedback-! We do offer a conservation experience, as well as seeing the penguins we aim to help raise awareness by education and to spark a love for nature!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (683)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

445 - 449 of 683 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

This was certainly the highlight of one of my best days on South Island - the area is set up so that you can make your way down to the special blinds for photography. The drive out to the site offers some great views as well. It was a once in a lifetime experience - highly recommended

Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penguinplace, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Place, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Well thanks for the kind words! Glad Penguin Place could offer you with such a memorable experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very few penguins to see if you have travelled and seen them at other parts of the world. Good thing that there were a few in their penguin hospital.

Thank 2morrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penguinplace, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Place, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thanks for visiting and for sharing your thoughts. You have made a very valid point about "very few penguins to see" These are the world's most endangered penguin and under threat of mainland extinction, this is why our project is so important to help save them as a species! In regards to your comment "if you have travelled and seen them in other parts of the world" - Yellow Eyed Penguins are not found in other parts of the world, only in New Zealand and you will only ever see these penguins in small number as they are both highly endangered and anti social, so they do not occur in groups like other penguins. I am glad you enjoyed visiting the penguin hospital, this is a rare treat as these penguins are not found in zoo's/captivity and we have a special permit to be able to view the hospital area due to our huge conservation efforts- which have been recognised by the NZ Government.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We went on the last tour of the day (had seen this recommended as the best time) on a windy/rainy day. The tour was excellent, our family of two adults, two teenagers and a 3yo enjoyed it very much. Our guide Glen was very informative and interesting. I think our 2 teenagers were keen to stay and volunteer at the project!
We only saw half a dozen penguins, but walking through all the hides and tunnels was fun. Seeing some penguins nesting on their eggs was a real highlight. Even the 3yo was fine with the walking. Kids need to be quiet though so as not to disturb the penguins.
The tour was excellent value for money, and it was so nice to see that our tour money was going to such a great cause. Great conservation project to support!

Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penguinplace, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Place, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Often the last tour can be the best! (but not always- depends on the time of year) But it sounds like it couldn't have been better for you and your family! Thanks for supporting our project and for sharing your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We did a guided tour at the penguin place in Dunedin and were really satisfied with everything. The Guide was really nice and gave us loads of information about those cute animals.
One thing might be important to know:
Not all year long you can see the penguins "coming home" from sea, as this depends on the time of the year and the time they are moulting. Even without seeing them moving around at the beach it is a stunning tour and worth the money. The penguin place is also a hospital for penguins and it gets the money only from the visitors.
It is absolutely worth a visit while you are in Dunedin!

Thank CarolinMarlen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penguinplace, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Place, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thanks for visiting and it is nice you found it to be such a great experience! We do pride ourselves on our friendly and helpful guides! You make a great point about "seeing penguins coming home" although we guarantee to see penguins on all our tours- exactly what will happen in regards to penguin activity is influenced by the time of the year! And of course being a wildlife tour- the penguins will come and go as and when they please! :) Feel free to do your homework/contact us before you come out!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penguin Place also viewed

 

Been to Penguin Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing