We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite place on the Otago Peninsula”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Penguin Place

Penguin Place
Book In Advance
More Info
$132.80*
and up
Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula Wildlife Tour
Ranked #10 of 105 things to do in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Penguin Place is a private conservation effort to help save the world's most endangered penguin, the Yellow Eyed Penguin. Visitors are taken on guided walking tours through a unique system of trenches and hides to view the penguins undisturbed at close range. Penguin Place is funded 100% by the support of our visitors, this funding enables habitat restoration, predator control, a research programme and on-site rehabilitation for sick, starving and wounded penguins. It is our hope that through our efforts, the future of this rare and wonderful penguin will be assured.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
146 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“My favorite place on the Otago Peninsula”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

A must-see for those who love viewing wildlife. Penguin Place offers visitors a rare opportunity to closely observe wild, endangered Yellow Eyed Penguins from a large network of trenches. The penguins are completely unaware that they are being observed. Better still if you can visit while the chicks are still around, getting regular feedings from their parents.

It is well worth the price of admission and the trip out to the end of the peninsula. While here, you can also visit the Royal Albatross Colony at Taiaroa Head. If you are unable or unwilling to drive to Penguin Place, you can sign up for any number of tours at the In-Site Tourism office near Dunedin's Octagon.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank PassarinhoAzul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    432
    141
    43
    19
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida, USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

This place is a little expensive but well worth the money. My boyfriend and I went in the late afternoon and saw lots of penguins. We saw several from the dugout huts, several on the beach making there way in, and even saw a few as we were walking around. We had a great time and really enjoyed our guide.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACT
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Absolutely first class - a must see in Dunedin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

On the advice from the Penguin Place staff we booked a late afternoon tour- when the adult penguins return from sea to feed their chicks at this time of year. It was fantastic. We saw at least a dozen adults and five babies all in very close proximity with excellent photo opportunities. The staff are extremely knowledgable and super flexible to ensure you get to see the very best of the colony. This is a privately run facility built by a family who have spent 20 years returning the areas the penguins use to their natural state. They are to be congratulated for their efforts and for sharing this with the public. We were very happy to pay the entry price knowing what good use it is being put to. A highly recommended tour - but make sure you book the afternoon tour when the penguins are moving about.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank JaVaMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“See the yellow-eyed penguin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

Well protected area that the family has worked on for 20 years. Robert was very knowledeable. Sorry to say he rushed us back to the bus at the end as we were soaking in watching a penguin return to shore and an adult along the trail. Need to space out tour groups so you are not rushed through this amazing experience.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sharon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great but....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

I believe this is an interesting site but we went with 2 young kids and this place is not young kid friendly. Thus a lot of time we gotta watch out on them than the Penguins.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank ahm3itravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penguin Place also viewed

 

Been to Penguin Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing