We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Otago Museum

Otago Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$10.60*
and up
Treasures of the Otago Museum Guided Tour
Ranked #3 of 105 things to do in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Auckland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good place to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were lucky enough to win a guided tour family pass to the Tropical Butterfly House. It is the tallest butterfly house in NZ (or Australaisa), obviously it is very hot, but our guide was very informative and helpful. We also visited the interactive area for the kids (& grown-ups) and had heaps of fun there. Although we never had time to visit all of the museum I would definately be back. We visited as a family with an 8 year old and 13 year old.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank luvggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    581
    200
    18
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Displays & Hands On Activities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

The butterfly enclosure is fantastic. Along the way as you go through the museum there are little activities to help keep kids amused.Quite spacious and access is fine for wheelchairs, elderly etc.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank sue l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place for all the family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This museum is one of the best in NZ, probably the best. There are so many wonderful exhibits to see and special exhibitions are always changing. The Butterfly house is a must see and a great place to warm up if you are feeling the cold. Kids love discovery world also.
The cafe is also a good place to stop with plenty of space and a play area for the children.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank r0bij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a must-do in Dunedin. Its free to enter which is great on the many wet days that Dunedin experiences but they do ask for a contributory donation of $10 which I was happy to pay as we were a family of five having a look. There are areas that have a fee attached but you're advised as you go around. The exibits are well laid out and easy to locate. Spread over several floors with a great area for young children to go to learn more and explore.
Parking is a bit of a hassle in the vicinity so go earlier or later in the day - a pay & display system operates around the museum which is in the heart of the city.
You could easily spend all day in there. Amazing display at the very top of the museum of taxidermied animals that is worth a look plus the butterfly enclosure - lots to see and read.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Canterbury, NZ
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Butterflies Display”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

The butterflies display is great and children love them especially when they land on the arms, As we went in the school holidays there was a light display on as well and this was great as well. Looks like the cafe has some great food to eat and well price, we had lunch before we visited as we didn't know that there was a cafe

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tui3560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otago Museum also viewed

 

Been to Otago Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing