We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Olveston Historic Home
from $15.10
More Info
from $55.10
More Info
from $113.60
More Info
from $44.70
More Info
Reviews (833)
Filter reviews
803 results
Traveler rating
631
145
24
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
631
145
24
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour wealthy family amazing house old house grand piano amazing home preserved home original furniture downton abbey family home step back in time fascinating insight bygone era gift shop visiting dunedin small group knowledgeable guide
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 803 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

An absolute must do, something one wouldnt have expected in this little city at the bottom of the world. It mat sound boring....oooo just another old house visit.....however once you actually get inside and have the tour thru you will be so glad to have seen. In fact i would go as far to say the best collection of a hundred plus years ago rich and famous people of that time did collect, and what makes it superbly awesome is its not locked away in some out of reach museum somewhere. There is some mind blowing stuff in this place that for the period it was built etc was far ahead of its time. So if you only do one visit in Dunedin then this is the one to do. OLVASTON HOUSE!!!! absolutely worth it.

Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a real surprise. Beautiful home and incredible furnishings and decorative items. The best part was our guide...very knowledgeable and so friendly. A great experience.

Thank WilliamWhitmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BronwynS260, Manager at Olveston Historic Home, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for your response. The Guides put a lot of effort into developing their tours and are always pleased to get good feedback, appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour today and am thankful that this family, in particular, Dorothy, had the wisdom to donate this mansion and all it’s contents to the city of Dunedin. This way we all get a wee glimpse into a life gone by and can share in this beautiful story of a great family of Dunedin.

Thank Thekeenkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What an inside view of old money and how the wealthy lived. Very interesting with many valuable artifacts. Well informed guides give a great tour. A Must see!

Thank Artieg419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BronwynS260, Manager at Olveston Historic Home, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your review, glad you enjoyed the tour. I sometimes wonder how much influence background contributes to the choice of symbols of wealth ie the house décor and some objects. David was a self made business person from a poor back ground but Marie's father was a very successful business person and she grew up in a relatively moneyed environment. Taste and social influence is a interesting discussion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Couldn't do any photos/videos inside of the house but that was to preserve the house and the items found within. It was enjoyable to see the different rooms as well as learn about the owners of the house. the outside gardens are beautiful.

Thank cloudfire181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was a must for me to do whilst in Dunedin. My teenage daughters were dragging their feet not interested, until we walked in! They listened to every word that the informative guide said and one was even invited to play the 112 year old grand piano!! A beautiful house with so much history. Loved it!

Thank MrsWindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

We found Olveston a beautiful and well-maintained home/museum. It is a lovely mansion. The garden and greenhouse are wonderfully kept.

We took a guided tour which was very informative and well presented. The staff are friendly and professional. They were extremely knowledgeable and answered everyone’s questions about the family history, household history, and the items in every room.

The guided tour size was small enough to allow every one of us to see the rooms and hear our guide. Well done.

Thank FZLimner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BronwynS260, Manager at Olveston Historic Home, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

Thanks appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

This is a rarity to have the opportunity to see an historic house with the original contents (even down to the wall paper) as if the owners just stepped out of it. The tour guide, Chris, was absolutely brilliant and we got to see the "behind the scenes" rooms, which you don't often get to see when you visit the palaces and chateaus of Europe. There are set tour times so you would need to book these but this is all spelt out in the brochures and website. Dad and I loved it and would recommend a visit!

Thank Braddo70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BronwynS260, Manager at Olveston Historic Home, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

Thanks for you great review. I will let Chris know you enjoyed her tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2018 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed it. WAY better than I thought it would be. Quite rushed but lots of interesting information and stunning home.

1  Thank sherbsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BronwynS260, Manager at Olveston Historic Home, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2018

Sorry you felt rushed, there is a lot to get through in one hour. For the majority of people this is about the right amount of time to get a feel for the house and family. As always its a bit of an issue to pacing the visit for the majority of visitors.

Those lucky enough to live locally can come on repeat visits or specialists tours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018

For those locals and visitors who love art, collections and have an interest in items of yesteryear, this is the place to visit. Olveston is a stately old home which has been beautifully preserved and is packed with treasures that won't disappoint. The gardens are beautiful and the Fiat vintage car, which was restored by a Mosgiel man, is on display. Our guide was excellent and regaled us with stories and snippets of interesting information, and encouraged us to ask questions. She was a most knowledgeable person and obviously enjoyed her job.
Olveston is a true treasure of Dunedin.

Thank Janne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BronwynS260, Manager at Olveston Historic Home, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2018

Thanks Janne for the great review. Our Guides put a lot of effort into knowing the family story and back ground of the objects and enjoying passing on the story to visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews