We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Ranked #41 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
“Comfortable”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Room tidy, well equipped, pleasant staff and perfect for the 2 nights with the 2 kids. Was put on the lowest floor with access to lift as we had two small children, which was very helpful. Included buffet breakfast which was fantastic. Had a great weekend, would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DTK1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    173
    128
    27
    11
See reviews for
78
148
28
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the rugby a couple of weeks ago. Hotel was passable, there was scaffolding out my window and some works going on so was pretty noisy. Good location given its close to the centre, breakfast was pretty ordinary and the rooms ok. Bar was like being in someone's front room. Staff were friendly though.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gavmaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights during a holiday to NZ. We found the room clean and comfortable. Our deal included a buffet breakfast both mornings which gave a reasonable choice of food. We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant on 1 night and loved both the meal and the service. The hotel is close to the city centre therefore easy to walk to some attractions. Car parking can be a little short at times. Would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaye M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotorua
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We booked for 3 nights in October...back in May...the weekend of the All Blacks test...the day before we get a call from the Reservations Manager to say our room has water damage, and they have booked us alternative accommodation close by.She did advise me the room close by was very small and only had 1 bed, they would put a rollaway out for our 9 year old.The other Motel was OK...very cramped for 3 nights in a small room...we had to walk back to the Kingsgate for brekky each morning as we had a package...I did this 2 of the mornings, couldnt be bothered 1 morning, the brekky at Kingsgate was OK...standard fare.
Was very disappointed that we were not offered any form of "Sorry"..originally on the phone we were offered a cadbury factory entry, which i advised we had already been there, but decided to accept this for our inconvenience! The lady on reception could see no note of this offer and said she would follow up and come back to me...this never happened.
I cannot offer info re the rooms, as we never got to see1, and although we now go to Dunedin regularly as we have a child at Uni...we wouldnt book here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debzrotorua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew708, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you have suffered during your stay in Dunedin.

Due to water damage caused by scaffolding, the room we had assigned for you had become unavailable so we took the initiative and reserved a room for you at a motel located a 2 minute walk away from the hotel knowing, that rooms were a premium due to the Bledisloe Cup rugby game at the weekend. When our reservations supervisor contacted you, the motel had only been able to confirm the availability of a slightly smaller room. However, later on you were allocated a larger room with a king sized bed, a sofa and a dining table as well as kitchen facilities which was considerably larger than the room you had been allocated at the Kingsgate.
Both the Assistant Manager and the Reservations Supervisor felt that this room was very comfortable and most suitable for a three night stay. I believe Rachelle my assistant manager did speak with you at breakfast the following morning to make sure everything was fine.

In regards to the vouchers you were offered, they were Cadbury World vouchers as well as complimentary passes to Moana Pool. You declined both saying that you had already visited these places on previous visits to Dunedin and had this time purely come for the rugby game. Consequently and due to the fact that this was an extremely busy weekend this was not passed on to the reception staff as we could not anticipate you changing your mind so apologies for that.
Once again we hope you will accept our sincere apology. Should you choose to stay at the Kingsgate in Dunedin again we would like to offer you and your family a complimentary cooked breakfast during your next stay.
Regards
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dunedin hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Invercargill
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Kingsgate Dunedin from the 28 September leaving on the 1st October. Upon our arrival i noted that there were short black hairs on the bathroom floor in front of the bath (Looked like someone had cut their hair). They stayed there until i cleaned them up myself!! Another problem was the shower head was set way up high and unless you are well over 6ft you have no chance of getting a shower. That coupled with the fact that the water pressure is SHOCKING you have no chance...I actually had to wash my hair and it took 20mins after shampooing and conditioning to rinse my hair...That's 40mins just to do that...(and i have quit fine hair!). I had to have a bath for my lower part of my body as the pressure is so bad i would've got wetter if i had stood out in the rain! The pressure is so bad that the toilet was not flushing and mostly had to be flushed twice, even with just a tissue and nothhing else. In fact sometimes it didn't work at all!!! There is no main ligting in the units apart from a lamp and 2 bed-side lamps. So very poor lighting!! The only palce to boil the jug is directly in front of the TV...So not good! The internet was hopeless and the recepionist could not sort this out, even though i wanted to buy internet time i still haven't got it yet! The parking is extremely limited and a real issue. The unit itself is tired looking with many areas needing to be re-painted due to scratches and scrapes. The good things about our stay was the fact that the bed was comfy, the unit was warm, the breakfast was nice and the location itself it great. That's the best i can say.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShazWat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My second visit here I find it handy for the city and all it's attractions. The staff are helpful and friendly. I think the only down side is the limited parking something I hadn't experienced on the 1st visit as I'd not taken a car. However it was OK to park on the street outside after 6pm till 9am and anytime over the weekend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goomburra
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel has the most comfortable cocooning divine beds...well our room did! I'd been unwell, and after staying here for two nights was rearing to go again. Oh yes, the windows could be opened as well...huge bonus

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golighty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 61 in Dunedin
760 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Motel on York
Motel on York
#23 of 61 in Dunedin
170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest Dunedin
Quest Dunedin
#48 of 61 in Dunedin
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin

Property: Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Address: 10 Smith Street, Dunedin 9001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunedin Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing