We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central and good value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Ranked #36 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Wanaka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Central and good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We often stay at the Kingsgate for trips to Dunedin. The hotel is a bit dated but it is great value for money (we paid $84 for the room). The rooms are clean, comfortable and a good size, twins have 2 double beds (4"6') and there is no extra charge for children (assuming you use the beds available). The location is great for shopping and is close to some good restaurants. The staff are friendly and helpful and if you want to use the local swimming pool you can get a free pass. The buffet breakfast is average and not great value but on the plus side children eat for free, alternatively there are good cafes very close by. Free parking is available but the car park does get full early so be prepared to park on the street which is free until 9am.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hobbitguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    162
    122
    25
    11
See reviews for
74
138
26
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Excellent location. 5 min walking distance to the Octagon and shopping area. Don't need to take a bus. Very friendly staff and you feel very welcome there. The housekeeping lady was very polite too ie 22 June am.

I accidentally left my daughter's beanie overnight, and it was still there just outside the lobby when I was about to leave the hotel the next morning. It is very safe when there is only one entrance for all guests.

A value for money hotel (ie. only $89 for a family room) for the four of us.The overall pleasant ambience at Kingsgate made our stay in Dunedin, a very nice and memorable one.

Thank you.

ps. pool and kids activities (not applicable since we never used them and it was during winter).

Room Tip: My room was closer to the road side and since it was on Fri and Sat, we could hear some cars zooming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr Aris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
invercargill
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This would have to be the best value for money hotel, I have spent in years. Did not use any of the facilities but hotel room was completely new décor, had a balcony and was terrific value for money $80 for two people for the night. Beds were so comfy too. Staff were very friendly and it is all but in the Octagon (heart of Dunedin).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katherine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

great location, in heart of Dunedin. Was good to have free WiFi and free parking. Pity no toaster or cutlery in room. Friendly staff always willing to help and make your stay better. Only a short walk from the octagon and restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flopsynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Kingsgate would be a great one or two night stop over. It is right smack bang in the middle of town. It is an older hotel with dated decor in the main areas but the rooms have been updated and are very reasonable for the price. However for a business traveller, there is no kitchenette of sorts, just a jug and a mini bar. There is not even cutlery in your room if you decide to bring takeaways back. No toasters allowed either. Ate from the room service menu and at the restaurant and both were reasonable. The man on reception was excellent, very friendly and we appreciated his excellent service.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlloftheLights1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed here two nights while attending the university graduation. Only one block to the Octagon in the centre of Dunedin, with an uphill walk which we were happy with but some may find a little steep.
Very comfortable room. Clean and tidy. Nice city view from our room on the third floor.
Enjoyed a nice dinner in the restaurant with good service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Nice comfy, clean hotel right in the centre of Dunedin and all for a very reasonable price. You can't fault the place really. The room that we stayed in had quite obviously been recently decorated and was really nice and modern and It was extremely well equipped with everything you would need for a stay of a night or two.

In a nutshell our stay at the Kingsgate was a positive one and I would certainly stay again when I next visit Dunedin.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.1 mi away
Motel on York
Motel on York
#22 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.1 mi away
97 Motel Moray
97 Motel Moray
#29 of 58 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wains Hotel Dunedin
Wains Hotel Dunedin
#43 of 58 in Dunedin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#10 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin

Property: Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Address: 10 Smith Street, Dunedin 9001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunedin Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing