We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“free WiFi, and free parking.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Ranked #41 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“free WiFi, and free parking.”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

great location, in heart of Dunedin. Was good to have free WiFi and free parking. Pity no toaster or cutlery in room. Friendly staff always willing to help and make your stay better. Only a short walk from the octagon and restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flopsynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    171
    127
    27
    11
See reviews for
77
147
28
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Kingsgate would be a great one or two night stop over. It is right smack bang in the middle of town. It is an older hotel with dated decor in the main areas but the rooms have been updated and are very reasonable for the price. However for a business traveller, there is no kitchenette of sorts, just a jug and a mini bar. There is not even cutlery in your room if you decide to bring takeaways back. No toasters allowed either. Ate from the room service menu and at the restaurant and both were reasonable. The man on reception was excellent, very friendly and we appreciated his excellent service.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlloftheLights1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed here two nights while attending the university graduation. Only one block to the Octagon in the centre of Dunedin, with an uphill walk which we were happy with but some may find a little steep.
Very comfortable room. Clean and tidy. Nice city view from our room on the third floor.
Enjoyed a nice dinner in the restaurant with good service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Nice comfy, clean hotel right in the centre of Dunedin and all for a very reasonable price. You can't fault the place really. The room that we stayed in had quite obviously been recently decorated and was really nice and modern and It was extremely well equipped with everything you would need for a stay of a night or two.

In a nutshell our stay at the Kingsgate was a positive one and I would certainly stay again when I next visit Dunedin.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Room was nice and clean, plenty of room. Got a bucket of ice brought up. Meal was very nice , lamb rump. A little street noise, but you are in the middle of town. Lifts a little slow, staff friendly and polite

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron4611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The good: The rooms are clean, spacious and clean - however the interior is a little dated.
The service was good.
The special price was very good value.
Lots of sun made the room warm, even though it was winter and a cool day.

The bad: The only lift is original and small. I felt a bit claustrophobic in it.
The vent in the bathroom created a draft I could feel when I was in there.

The ugly: There is insufficient parking at the hotel, I had to park on the street. The driveway was very steep in places and I wouldn't want to use them on an icy, frosty morning.
I could hear University students partying well into the night. However, as it was a Graduation Day this may not be common.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaelthekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The hotel's location was very convenient to sightseeing in this interesting town- a short stroll down to the Octagon and many bars/ eateries, across the road to a great wee pub-the Scotia, and across the way to the Church-an impressive looking building.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bailey74797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew708, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin. We value your comments and we are pleased that you had a pleasent stay with us. Thank you for your comments regarding the location, the team and the hotel facilities.We are continually trying to improve our services and your feedback is invaluable.
We hope to see again one day at the Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin.

Andrew GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.3 mi away
Quest Dunedin
Quest Dunedin
#46 of 61 in Dunedin
162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#12 of 61 in Dunedin
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Motel on York
Motel on York
#23 of 61 in Dunedin
168 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wains Hotel Dunedin
Wains Hotel Dunedin
#45 of 61 in Dunedin
300 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Law Courts Hotel
The Law Courts Hotel
#48 of 61 in Dunedin
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin

Property: Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Address: 10 Smith Street, Dunedin 9001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunedin Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing