We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Ranked #38 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel is located really well and the room I had, had an excellent view over the city.

However, this is about where it ends. Everything was just "average" - the room, breakfast, service....

Overall it's very outdated and is in need of refurbishment.

Room Tip: Maybe ask if one has been renovated?!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwitravellers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew708, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us January at the Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin. We value your comments. Thank you for your comments regarding the location.
However since your visit to Dunedin in January we have completed a refurbishment which includes new 42' LCD TV's, WiFi throughout the hotel and in room funrishings. We are also in the process of an exterior re paint.
I hope on your next visit to Dunedin you offer the Kingsgate Hotel an opportunity to restore some confidence in the property and look forward to welcoming you back.

Regars
Andrew GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 401 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

It was a busy weekend in Dunedin and accommodation was hard to find. I was pleasantly surprised to obtain a room at this hotel. It was spacious and very clean and had great views - it would have been ideal for a longer stay. There was a small hiccup to do with making up the bed in the lounge - my 6ft friend didn't really fit into a cot! - but that was minor really. There was a bit of street noise, but the students were back in town and there were major sporting events on - to be expected really. Overall, a good experience and I would stay there again.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Marion16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew708, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the location of the hotel. We only wish you could have stayed longer. I am pleased that the team addressed the bedding configuration for youR friend and that they were able to sleep comfortably. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin on your next visit here.
Regards
Andrew GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Rooms clean, comfortable and quiet. We has a good sleep both nights. Reception were great and helpful. The hotel does need refurbishment; for example a door lock broke off when we were there and had obviously had a previous temporary fix. The facilities are very limited for a city hotel (restaurant and bed). Our rooms had a fantastic outlook over the city becuase of the site's elevated location on the city centre fringe and it was very easy to access the city centre by walking. The parking is limited and we had to overspill into an adjacent car park while we were there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madonna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew708, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for your Feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin. We are pleased that you found the hotel clean and comfortable and the Team friendly and courteous. We have just finished a refurbishmant this month with brand new VinGuard locks on all hotel room doors and 42 inch LCD screens in all rooms. We hope next time you visit Dunedin you will stay with us at the Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin.
Regards
Andrew GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

great location, but not much more than a typical hotel. it does however have good bathrooms, & very hefty sound proof doors, that are hard to open & close, but sound proof doors are pointless when the walls are paper thin & you can hear every word from the neighbouring room. also, i was fortunate to be traveling without a large vehicle, they have limited parking, so best check in early.
overall it was a nice place with nice rooms.

Room Tip: ask for room next to quiet people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spookikiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew708, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin. I am pleased you enjoyed the location of the hotel to your liking and the Team friendly. I am sorry you found some noise disturbance fom other guests and I hope that my team addressed that for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to Dunedin and hope you choose to stay with us at the Kingsgate Dunedin on your next visit
Regards
Andrew GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I stayed here 2 nights last week. The site is on a hill easy walking distance from the centre of town. Parking spaces were at a premium. Because there was free parking conference guests seemed to take preference over guests. The rooms were confortable if a little aged, the beds were very comfortable. The room I had on the 3rd floor HAD NO AIR CON which I found to be uncomfortable round February. Consequently I found I had to sleep with the sliding balcony door open all night just to get a cool sleep. The breakfast was very reasonably priced and the food was very good. I found the hotel staff very friendly and helpful adressing me as Sir so ten out of ten to the staff. I would most likely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian-NewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew708, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin. We are pleased you enjoyed your breakfast and found the Team polite and courteous.We have currently finished a recent refurbishment which includes new 42 inch LCD TV's in the rooms and WiFi installed throughout the hotel.We hope to see you again at the Kingsgate Hotel on your next visit to Dunedin.
Regards
Andrew
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We got a deal through isite, it was a lovely hotel in a great location, close to the bars & restaurants. They have large clean rooms & a nice breakfast room. Would definitely stay again. The reception staff were also helpful with any local information. Only drawback is it is on a hill.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeggyHarry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The location of this easy to find hotel is centrally located, which is very convenient for a dinner and movie get away. We found the rooms comfortable and recently updated. However, the tv was smaller then I prefer and was on the desk, rather then set inside the giant empty wall frame that used to have a larger tv at one time. There was no air conditioning for the warm night and day. The staff was very friendly and helpful with suggestions during our stay. I recommend the eggs benedict for breakfast. The neighbourhood is quiet and we had a good night sleep. Personally I found the beds a little too soft, but that might be just me. Parking was limited, which we knew ahead of time by the other reviews to park early and walk around afterwards to avoid inconveniences. We were two minutes walk to the Octagon. The price for product was great. We used the $50 voucher for the breakfast. Rather than buying the Bed and Breakfast package.

Room Tip: If you request a room facing the church and high floor. But the second floor was plenty high and ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond & Valer... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew708, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for your comments and feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and location of the hotel. We are currently just completing the upgrade of all the hotlel rooms and awaiting the arrival of new LCD Flat screens shortly. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kingsgate Hotel on your next visit to Dunedin.
Andrew GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#11 of 61 in Dunedin
782 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Dunedin
Best Western Dunedin
#19 of 61 in Dunedin
286 reviews
6.1 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#6 of 61 in Dunedin
645 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin

Address: 10 Smith Street, Dunedin 9001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range: $86 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunedin Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing