We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must if you want to get a really good insight into Dunedin.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Good Company Tours

Good Company Tours
Ranked #8 of 48 Tours in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dunedin's most spectacular sights in 2 hours!Learn history and folklore,Spectacular hilltop photo spots including the ruins of Cargills castle,Explore the oldest University campus in New Zealand, and the worlds steepest street,Harbourside drive, and the beautiful St Clair Esplanade.Departs from the I site visitors centre, Princes st (just south of the Octagon) Enjoy your visit to Dunedin with Good Company making it fun and interesting!
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A must if you want to get a really good insight into Dunedin.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We elected to take the 2 hour tour and were really pleased we did. Richard is an absolutely excellent guide with a very thorough knowledge of Dunedin and surrounds. I echo the comments of other reviewers, before you do anything in Dunedin take the tour!!!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    22
    4
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great tour of Dunedin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

A friend and I took the city sights tour and was not disappointed. The driver was extremely knowledgeable, and being able to see the hilliest of cities from a bus was a great change from the walking.

The guide was informative and we learnt so much, we even used some of his tips on places to visit such as the train station. Thoroughly enjoyed this tour, the bus was small so it manouevered a lot better too.

Tip - sit in the middle rows, the front nor the back of the bus offer any advantages.

Highly recommended to get a view of the city from all the best angles and learn about the history of the town.

The only - and this was not a deal breaker - thing that this missed was an actual walk of the worlds steepest street, but you do get to view it from the bus, and I seen a few people attempt to walk the street and they looked extremely tired, so I was extremely grateful we did not walk it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank shellski6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great tour for cruisers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Took a tour with Richard at Good Company Tours while visiting Dunedin on a cruise of NZ recently. Richard knows all there is to know about Dunedin I'm sure. He was very informative, on time and friendly. We booked via the website months before travel and the whole process easy and the tour was exactly as described. This is a great tour for cruise travellers as it picks up from the dock at Port Chalmers, with drop off at the Octagon right in the middle of town with a couple of hours free time to explore (we headed to Cadbury World and Speights Brewery). Richard then picks up again about 2 pm for a tour of all the major sights in town and around the countryside before heading back to the port for drop off. Great tour, great company, you wont be disappointed.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharpies2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrearra, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

I had been to Dunedin before, but did not realise how much I did not know and had not seen until Richard took us on a 2 hour city tour. Lots of history, lots of great views and Richard is very knowledgeable about the city and its history. Before you do anything in Dunedin, do the tour which will set you up with some local knowledge and then you can make the most of your stay. Thanks Richard, great tour. !!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly and informative tour, great day and value for money.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Just did a cruise of NZ and waited to see what was on offer in each port. Good Company Tours approached us and we went on their tour. 100% satisfied, highly recommend this Company.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussieoldie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Good Company Tours also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Good Company Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing