We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CHARM PLUS VALUE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apartments at St Clair

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apartments at St Clair
Ranked #23 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“CHARM PLUS VALUE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We spent 3 nights in our apartment on the second floor which had partial ocean views and the peaceful sound of the waves breaking on the beach. The apartment was very comfortable, serviced daily and had a very well appointed kitchen which allowed us to prepare our own meals.
On our arrival we were greeted by our host who obliged by helping with our luggage. He also had our apartment warmed on what was a cool and wet evening.
These apartments are well located with all conveniences close by and Dunedin CBD only a short distance away. Very happy to recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    29
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
42
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

Owner operators are very attentive to your needs. Gratefully helped us with our luggage to our room (there are no lifts but enough stairs to make it a little difficult when young kids around. Though not right in the city, it backs onto the beach. The unit above had someone awake till after midnight and up around 6 - we would hear them walking around the unit. The units are a good size and well self contained. Would recommend if the price is right, maybe a bit expensive relative to other places with same facilities but better locations.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tooheyspete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

St Clair apartments was like a trip back 50 years - such elegant accommodation. All modern whiteware, beautiful furnishings throughout. Spacious. Well equipped kitchen. Gavin a very pleasant and helpful host. I would be very keen to return one day. Very well priced.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaynor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

We spent two nights in a one bedroom seaview apartment and were most happy with our choice. The block has been tastefully restored and our apartment was both well-appointed and comfortable. We had seaviews out of every window and went to sleep hearing the pounding surf. The apartment was warm and had a good range of kitchen utensils. We were a little concerned with the unusual shower set up but it worked out fine. Undercover parking, although tight, was a bonus. It was nice to stroll along the beach. The block, although fully booked, was quiet. A great find and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are a little extra but you are at the beach so enjoy the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lachie255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

I recently had 3 nights here with friends, as part of a small group tour to Otago. I had not checked out the accommodation beforehand so was blown away by my apartment . It was so large and everything was perfect. I had a top floor room and could have stayed in all day watching the beach and the surfers , from the windows.
Wendy and Gavin were wonderful hosts and nothing was too much trouble, including lugging my bag up all those stairs. There are great cafes and restaurants within walking distance if you don't want to prepare meals in the fully equipped kitchen.
Now --all I need is an excuse to return!!

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemstone511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

What an absolute gem! Gavin & Wendy are wonderful hosts, very willing to help make things as comfortable as possible.
The apartment was very well equipped & had a great "feel" ..
The stairs were the only glitch but not major .. the exercise was much needed!
An excellent "find" & I will most definately be back!
A big thank you to Gavin & Wendy for their great service. Irene & Jess :))

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wanaka
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

we will certainly be returning here when we need to stay in Dunedin again, everything was a wonderful experience , from being met by warm friendly host to the building being beautifully restored for a majestic old building . the size of our apartment and it was an apartment not a motel sized room
location just a stroll to St Clair beach and a couple of restaurant cafes and evening dinning bars.
highly recommend especially if wanting to meet typical NZ hosts .
thanks so much we had a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WanakaAitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN 555 On Bayview
3.2 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#10 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
3.0 mi away
Roslyn Apartments
Roslyn Apartments
#6 of 58 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel St Clair
Hotel St Clair
#24 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.0 mi away
Esplanade Motel & Apartments
0.0 mi away
The Hydro Esplanade Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments at St Clair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments at St Clair

Property: Apartments at St Clair
Address: 15 Bedford Street | Saint Clair, Dunedin 9012, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apartments at St Clair 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a classic apartment building, Apartments at St Clair provides refurbished one and two bedroom apartments, for the business traveler, older families and tourists. Equipped with full kitchens, free wifi, sky television and a Dunedin location away from the bustle and noise yet within 100m of 6 restaurants/ cafes', the beach and a seasonal heated salt water pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Apartments at St Clair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing