We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Apartments at St Clair
Nearby Hotels
Aria on Bank(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
$151
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$316
$306
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pacific Park Suites(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
$114
$105
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
$84
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$222
$199
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Larnach Castle Lodge(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
$206
$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunedin Palms Motel(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
$145
$140
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveler rating
92
40
4
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
40
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop floorno liftseparate roomssash windowsthese apartmentsbeach walkingpartial viewlovely high ceilingsbedroom apartmentcafes and restaurantscharacter buildingthe kitchenshower curtainsound of the wavesclair beachamazing locationgreat apartment
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 138 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This was a great apartment in grand old building. The rooms were spacious with lovely high ceilings and all the mod cons and even a little balcony. It was near the beach and some good restaurants. The only drawback was the steps of which there were lots. However Gavin was there to help carry them up.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rbecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in these lovely Deco apartments near beach in St Clair and loved the place.

Owners are very friendly and helpful and the apartment is gorgeous. Four separate rooms with a fully equipped galley kitchen. Comfortable bed and beautiful view of the ocean and sky.

Apartments are a couple of minutes walk from several nice cafes/pubs and the glorious hot salt sea baths. St Clair beach is really beautiful and lovely to walk along (and watch people in wet suits surfing).

Easy 10 minute drive from city centre and straight forward to get to peninsula etc.

Room Tip: View is better higher up but no elevator so depending on bags you might want lower down. Talk to the owners they are very friendly and will advise best option.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taniwhamoana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here 3 nights while visiting our children. It was a short walk to their apartment and to the beautiful St. Clair beach. I was only expecting a basic hotel room with a bathroom, but we had a living room and kitchen as well.
Everything was clean, comfortable, charming and well taken care of. Gavin, the owner, was friendly and helpful.
It was also a great value. We plan on staying there again when we return to the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janien F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We are staying at Majestic Mansions right now as a family of four. And really want to emphasise the themes identified by others - the place has character , which is a little hard to find at your average kiwi hotel, let's face it. It is also nicely situated on the beach at St Claire. It is very quiet at any time of the day. But at night you can really enjoy that stillness as the sound of the surf is there in the background. We can see the surf from our third floor window ( the double rooms face away from the sea but have windows on the south and north ends). Plus there are a couple of decent cafes just around the corner. We have stayed downtown previously but will definitely be coming back to St Claire !

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Travelling-wilbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

When I pulled up at this place it was probably not what I was expecting. It is a vintage block of flats which has been transformed into accommodation. In saying that, from the moment we arrived until we left, it was fantastic. This place has been renovated beautifully. The rooms are lovely and quaint. The kids had a room with bunks which they loved. Our bed was the most comfortable that we had in NZ. The hosts were great and it was possibly the cleanest place I have ever stayed. It is a short drive into the city centre. It also has nice restaurants, parks, walks and ocean near it. Not your average motel - but take a chance on it - you will be pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: Try to get the back rooms as I think they have a better ocean view
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schmyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews