We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantastic Day in Dunedin!”
Review of Iconic Tours

Iconic Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$107.12*
and up
Full-Day Larnach Castle Tour
Ranked #4 of 52 Tours in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Iconic Tours provide personalised small group sightseeing tours and private Airport Transfers to and from Dunedin Airport. Tour Dunedin, Otago Peninsula, Central Otago and wider South Island. Wildlife tours, historic tours, cycling and walking tours are all available. Other services include customised multi-day tours to suit your interests and time frame. Our driver guides are professional, friendly and passionate about Dunedin. We enjoy the tours as much as you will!
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My family and I took a cruise around New Zealand at the end of January and after reading positive reviews on Iconic Tours - we thought we'd give them a try. And are we glad we did! The whole day was really great. Kim picked us up right at our ship. He was a great tour guide ~ very knowledgable and friendly. The tour we booked was the Otago Peninsula and Larnach Castle and it was not a disappointment. Kim was very patient with my Mom as she doesn't walk all that well. I would highly recommend Iconic Tours if you're looking for a tour in Dunedin!

1  Thank moritti23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"day tour"
in 12 reviews
"cruise ship"
in 25 reviews
"larnach castle"
in 26 reviews
"mt cook"
in 3 reviews
"penguin place"
in 11 reviews
"small group tour"
in 4 reviews
"new zealand"
in 27 reviews
"otago peninsula"
in 16 reviews
"railway station"
in 12 reviews
"driver guide"
in 5 reviews
"baldwin street"
in 10 reviews
"golden princess"
in 2 reviews
"city sights tour"
in 3 reviews
"a wonderful tour guide"
in 2 reviews
"comfortable van"
in 2 reviews
"steepest street in the world"
in 8 reviews
"sun princess"
in 2 reviews
Filter

127 - 131 of 148 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

On a recent cruise I booked a tour with Iconic that would cover our interests in the Dunedin area. Our guide was John and he proved to be knowledgeable and good company. We wanted to see the area, the Larnach Castle Gardens and the Yellow eyed Penguins and Royal Albatross on the Otago Peninsula. We managed all this and more in a relaxed fashion and all felt it was a really good day out. When cruising and with the time restraints this means, it does help to have such organised and well informed guides such as John.
It is good to be able to plan a day according to individual interests and we did this with Iconic. Very happy to recommend their services.

2  Thank jandover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim H, Owner at Iconic Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Hi there, thanks so much for posting on our tripadvisor site. I have passed on your feedback to our driver John and we are all thrilled you enjoyed your day on the Peninsula with him as your guide. Having small groups means we are accustomed to planning the trip as we go, often it is having this flexibility in the itinerary that can really make the day and turn up some interesting surprises. All the best with your travels, again we really appreciate your feedback.

Kind regards, Kim Hayward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Iconic tours is highly customisable with the local knowledge to make the most of your day without stressfully over-filling it. You won't find a better tour guide than Kim. Honestly, don't even pay for someone at a venue to take you through on a tour - Kim can do it better.
He drove safely, provided us with yummy snacks, took us to a great bakery for lunch and was time conscious and friendly.
Their correspondence through email and understanding of our needs as cruisers was perfect.
Thank you!

Thank Heidi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim H, Owner at Iconic Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Heidi & John, thanks so much for posting on our trip advisor site. It was great to meet your family and I really enjoyed the day as well. Dunedin has so much to offer it really makes my job easy. I appreciate your kind words though, I think I get the most out of the tours where I can really see my passengers getting into all the attractions and having the best time doing it. You have an awesome family who will no doubt delight many more tour guides as you travel around together. All the best and please come back to Dunedin again soon! Regards, Kim Hayward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Hi Kim and Ann
Thank you so much from our family (Carmen, John, Heidi & Daniel) and others who joined our hectic day tour. Our day with you in Dunedin was a highlight of our visit to NZ. We loved the personalized attention, flexible options and transport arrangements, courteous time-keeping to stay on schedule for all that we wanted to do and the wonderful 'local history' shared in personable and interesting doses to suit the attractions we visited. Ann got stuck with an elderly lady and was so accommodating. Kim got the mini-bus load of 'go-getters' that wanted to see as much as possible and he certainly delivered. From first contact via e-mail from Australia to delivering us back at Port Chalmers on time - every aspect of our dealings with Kim and Ann was terrific. Highly recommend this duo and have given feed-back to Princess Cruises that they should refer passengers to Kim and Ann.

Thank JohnO4352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We had a day in Dunedin and following a good review on Tripadviser, we pre booked the Larnach Castle and City Sights Tour. Kim arrived at Port Chalmers on time and soon our group were off to explore Dunedin. Kim was an excellent tour guide, combining local knowledge, humour and insight to allow our group to really explore the 'heart' of Dunedin. He was on the ball and able to take us to so many highlights, including Larnach Castle, yet he always made us feel relaxed with plenty of time to enjoy the special places and people of Dunedin. His ability to inform and tell the stories behind these highlights was very engaging. We had lots of time to walk, take photos, spend free time exploring and even experienece lunch at the best fish n chips shop in Dunedin.

Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim H, Owner at Iconic Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Helen,
Thank you for posting on trip advisor. It was great to have you on tour in Dunedin. Your comments describe exactly the kind of tour we like to offer: A relaxed tour yet packing a lot in to the day, fun for everyone yet adding a little insight to the history and culture of the destination at the same time. Obviously you are my ideal passenger and I can only hope for more like you!! But seriously though your comments do mean a lot to us. Thanks again and all the best with your future travels.
Kind regards, Kim Hayward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iconic Tours also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Iconic Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing