We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, excellent!”

Potpourri Vegetarian Cafe
Ranked #12 of 346 Restaurants in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent, excellent!”
Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Burgers, bagels, quiches, eggs, soup, lasagne, nachos, baked potatoes. Yes, it's vegetarian, but quite apart from that this really is a brilliant place. The staff are lovely, and the food is really tasty. As a family of 6 we had (between us) two soups, a mushroom burger, 2 baked potatoes and a large bowl of nachos. All delicious and full of colour and flavour - no brown insipid mush here. And we all ate lunch for $50... We will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zenk73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    53
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Generally disappointing. Get there earlier in the day for the freshest fare. To be fair I have had some better food there on some occasions but have lost confidence in the place due to inconsistency.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank trisha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
97 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Great salads and their baking is very nice too. I wish it was closer to my work.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Morfdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
97 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Always great food at this place, would eat there every day if I could.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Morfdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The best café in NZ!”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

This café is one of the bes cafés we´ve ever been to! Doesn´t matter if you´re a vegeterian or not, this is the tastiest food you can have in Dunedin! Vegeterian food often doesn´t taste much but everything (and we mean EVERYTHING) had a delicious taste, carefully seasoned with only natural, genuine ingredients. Their date-scones are to die for! We returned to Dunedin only for their food and had take-aways as well just to enjoy their food as much as possible. WE LOVE IT!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alicia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Potpourri Vegetarian Cafe also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Potpourri Vegetarian Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing