We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky but interesting and fun”
Review of Stanleys Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunedin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stanleys Hotel
Ranked #19 of 63 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Australia
Level Contributor
202 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Quirky but interesting and fun”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed here in March as part of a large group doing the Otago bike ride. Really cute and OLD hotel. Accommodation was basic but very clean and adequate. Limited evening meal menu, but hey its a very very small town pub! Continental breakfast was included in the price. Really quirky atmosphere. The man who came to pick us up from Hyde did not say a word to us the whole bus trip, we soon got the message that he was not a conversationalist, but he did take us for a trip to the Goldmine which was very interesting. The remoteness of this little town and pub really made this stay memorable and I would recommend it for the experience. They transport you back to Hyde in the morning, where hopefully your unlocked bike is still waiting for you outside the Hyde cafe where you left it the day before!

Room Tip: There are rooms at the back of the pub behind the breakfast area. Sunny and open up to the back gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qlddebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    12
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
6
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

I was a little anxious about staying at this pub having read the reviews but we had a very good experience right from the moment we rang Mike to say we had arrived in Hyde to the lift back the next morning. The 15 minute drive between Hyde and Macraes Flat is wonderful, with scenery unlike what we had seen on the trail. Mike even gave us a quick trip to the gold mine before we checked in. Maureen showed us our room which was just that but clean and comfortable. The two shared bathrooms were clean and the showers good. We had a drink by the fire in the bar before relaxing in the guest lounge with a bottle of Pinot. Dinner was like the old fashioned counter teas we got in Australia way back when. I had a huge steak with fried eggs on top, chips and salad. I asked for MR and I got MR. Whilst the pub is a good drive from the trail we reckon it was worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our group of eleven friends recently stayed at Stanleys Hotel, when doing the Otago Rail Trail as it was the only place available that could accommodate us all together. Our hosts Bill and Maureen made us feel very welcome, with Bill collecting us all from Hyde in his van and going out of his way to show us the nearby gold mine on the way back to the hotel. Our rooms were basic but very clean, bathroom facilities were shared, the home-cooked meals were fine and we all really enjoyed the quaint bar and the company of friendly locals. A pleasant stay which suited our group perfectly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LycraTour2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This place isn't for wimps or tourists wanting the 'geniune article' because this really is it - so be careful what you wish for. This is the quintessential southern man local pub - and personally, I thought it was great. Its mostly for those passing through that might be doing a couple of days at the mine (like me) - they put on a meal, show you to your room and even make you a cut lunch (fantastic) to take to work the next day as the workday in that part of the country starts at 5am. The rooms are square rooms with a bed, that's it. The showers (2 ) are communal - the food is good, the place is rough. But you're really in man's country down there and it isn't really for tourists, its for locals to have a beer in so don't expect Auckland and a sorbet. This is what it is, considering where it is. A southern pub in a old part of the South off the beaten track. It doesn't pretend to be anything else, so don't expect it to be.

Room Tip: take what you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank safarihat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

I have recently stayed at Stanleys Hotel and had a pleasant experience. The managers have only recently taken over and are already making what i consider to be positive changes, as the previous reviews I have read made me reluctant to stay. The new managers offer true southern hospitality at its best. The menu was reasonably priced and offers rustic home cooked meals suited to the hotel and were enjoyed by all our party. The manageress was a lovely woman and more than obliging, happy to meet our dietry requirements. The bar manager was more than knowledgable about the area and products he was serving. He arranged a 4 wheel drive trip with a local the following morning. I understand the current managers have been in this establishment previously and i think this is an advantage and they aspire to make more in the future. I look forward to seeing the changes.

Room Tip: rooms are slightly dated, however the linen as all very modern and most importantly, warm and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RitaB1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stayed at this historic rural hotel in March 2011. We were realistic about the likely accommodation standard but expected the same wonderful Southern hospitality that we had experienced elsewhere in Central Otago while biking the Rail Trail. The accommodation was average, it was clean as were the communal bathrooms. That is where anything positive ends! Four of our overseas guests were picked up by the proprietor in Hyde for the 15-20 minute drive to the hotel. They asked the driver if she could turn the heating down as they were feeling very uncomfortable. She evidentally took no notice till one of them had to raise her voice. There was no conversation or attempt to make them feel welcome. Two of us following the van could barely keep up and as we were unfamiliar with the area, lost sight of the van a few times. After what we later heard about the heating and the lack of communication, we were pleased we weren't in the van with the others. This was the start of an unpleasant stay. The proprietor throughout displayed a complete lack of hospitality and empathy. Accommodation: The entrance to the guest rooms was via a darkened passageway that relied on sensors to provide what was totally inadequate lighting for a very dark area. Sensors were triggered by movement but didn't come on till you had take a few steps and they would go out before you reached the next trigger point (leaving guests hoping they wouldn't trip in the dark). We expressed our geniune concerns when being shown to our rooms and asked if a light could be left on as we were very worried about tripping. Proprietor was not remotely interested in our concerns! There was only a small glimmer of light coming from a half glass door (the fire exit) at the very end of the passageway which disappeared at nightfall. Not surprisingly within an hour of arrival one of our friends stepped out of her room and fell down a single step near her doorway that resulted in a severe foot fracture. This completely ruined their long planned holiday to NZ and resulted in an early return to the US for further treatment. Fire exit: The door at the end of the passageway was also the fire exit for guests. At night, the door leading through the bar and hence the front entrance of the hotel were locked as to be expected. In addition to the single door at the end of the passageway, guests had access to a communal dining room which had an exit door but this was locked from the inside and there was no key in the lock. Hence guests were only able to access one emergency exit! Food: Breakfast items were very basic and included tea bags, instant coffee, white sliced bread, standard cereals, communal sugar bowl and the butter, honey, jams, and fruit salad etc were in large plastic containers in the fridge which guests could help themselves to. As a result these containers contained other peoples bread crumbs and toppings that they clearly just dipped their knives into. YUK!!! This was so unhygienic. It is better to wait to you get to Hyde if you want something more appetitising. We understand that this place was going to have a make over later this year. What is really needed is a total change of attitude. Hospitality, kindess and warmth cost nothing and bad experiences leave a long memory. As Kiwis, we were particularly ashamed that our overseas guests had to experience this unfortunate place and particularly that our injured friend received no sympathy from this establishment.

Room Tip: Could not recommend one over another. The first room in the passageway is larger then the others bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Tabqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annie M, Owner at Stanleys Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2017
This review was written over 5 years ago now and Stanleys has subsequently been through some changes since.

My daughter Claire and I have now been running Stanleys for the past year and we have remodelled inside plus changed the menu extensively with rave reviews.

We can assure any future patrons will have a very warm welcome and a fabulous time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
35.5 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#8 of 61 in Dunedin
619 reviews
34.2 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#9 of 61 in Dunedin
415 reviews
34.4 mi away
Bella Vista Mosgiel Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.6 mi away
Portobello Motel
Portobello Motel
#1 of 2 in Portobello
461 reviews
34.2 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
722 reviews
35.1 mi away
Bonnie Knights Motel
Bonnie Knights Motel
#4 of 4 in Mosgiel
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanleys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanleys Hotel

Property: Stanleys Hotel
Address: 1760 Macraes Rd | Macraes Flat, Central Otago, Dunedin 9483, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing