We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheapest motel in town”
Review of Ocean Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ranked #31 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Reviewed January 15, 2013

stayed 2 nights here. the sheets were clean, the bed was comfy and the shower was hot. it was the cheapest motel in dunedin at the time of our stay.
if you want the hilton then pay for it i say. here you get what you pay for, a bed and a shower.
it is not a hotel but a pub with 10 motel rooms across the car park.
there is coffee making, a toaster and a fridge for milk in the room also free to air tv.
on the down side there is no internet or sky but you don't really need it for a short stay. the only thing i would like them to do is put heavier drapes up to block the morning sun and night time street lights.
all in all we'll stay here again when were in dunedin.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank picklebum2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spaniwi, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Hello Picklebum2011 and thank you for your honest review.

Yes we are not the Hilton, we are the Ocean Beach Hotel which as you say is a neighbourhood pub with ten motel rooms across the carpark! We are cheap and cheerful but you do get clean rooms and a great bed as well as heat pumps for the cheapest price in Dunedin. In response to customer feedback we have just installed free Wireless internet and if you want to watch SKY TV we do have all of the sport on SKY TV in the bar!

A good point re: the drapes. We have just installed voiles and it may well be time to upgrade the drapes as well so we will definetly give that comment some more thought.

It would be great to see you again soon. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

194 - 200 of 206 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2012

You get what you pay for. This hotel was inexpensive by NZ standards but we felt like we were in the parking lot, which we were. It was a short walk across to the beach which was quite nice, but the hotel itself left much to be desired. The room was very small, just room for the bed and space to walk around it. The surrounding area was pretty desolate. There appeared to be a convenience store across the street, but we never found it open. There is a restaurant associated with the hotel (across the parking lot). It appears to be more of a bar than a restaurant. Did not eat there, can't comment on the food.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms that we could see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyn49006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spaniwi, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2012

Thank you Lyn49006 for your review. We are sorry you were felt underwhelmed by your experience at the Ocean Beach Hotel. You are correct when you say the rooms are inexpensive and whilst we have modernised the rooms considerably from when we took over the property ie: brand new queen sized beds, new Heat Pumps / Air Con units, new kitchenette area and new sofa chairs etc we could never make the rooms absolute first class. We have priced the rooms accordingly and believe $75 NZD per night is extremely good value. Most people who stay with us agree.

We have found that many tourists like yourselves have become confused with our name and believe that the rooms we offer are Hotel style rooms when clearly that is not the case. We apologise for this and have made a concerted effort on third party websites to point out that the rooms we offer as part of the Ocean Beach Hotel complex are in fact MOTEL style rooms.

Apart from being underwhelmed we hope you had a good nights rest and were able to enjoy your Dunedin experience. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spaniwi, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natajid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spaniwi, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spaniwi, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SuperRoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spaniwi, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spaniwi, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
2.1 mi away
The Law Courts Hotel
The Law Courts Hotel
#49 of 61 in Dunedin
121 reviews
2 mi away
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
#56 of 61 in Dunedin
114 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Sahara Guesthouse & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 61 in Dunedin
295 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
457 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arcadian Motel
Arcadian Motel
#48 of 61 in Dunedin
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Hotel

Address: 134 Prince Albert Road | St Kilda, Dunedin, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range: $60 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BOOK DIRECT - BEST PRICE. Ocean Beach Hotel is a friendly neighbourhood Bar that offers Bistro meals. It contains a Pool Table, Dart Boards and an 10 Machine Gaming Room. We provide Motel style accommodation with each of our ten units having been refurbished in 2011. Easy walking distance to the beach and the main street of South Dunedin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing