We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a Delightful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arts Content Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 61 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 3, 2013

A delightful place to stay, one of the best B&Bs we have stayed in. Cathy and Alex were so hospitable (fresh flowers, fresh warm bread etc.) and full of useful advice.
We appreciated the independence of the the self contained apartment and the gardens are really beautiful, they were just bursting into life. The exotic (to us) wildlife, penguins albatross, and fur seals was sensational. If our schedule had allowed it we would have stayed longer. First class !

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtsContentBnB, Owner at Arts Content Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed our little piece of paradise as much as we do. Merci beaucoup et a la prochaine!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 62 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

Just what we needed on a first damp and grey day in Dunedin. A warm welcome and lots of useful information. The self contained accommodation is very comfortable and provides a great view of Otago Harbour.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bryan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtsContentBnB, Owner at Arts Content Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. We do enjoy meeting people from all over the world in our B&B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Good points: privacy, nice view from the terrace, good continental breakfast basket, good wifi.
Minor points: kitchen not very clean, coldish sleeping room (despite of the heat pump), we stayed 2 nights and the bed was not done after the first night and apparantly your supposed to clean the dishes you used for breakfast. The explanation given (announcement on a piece of paper on the wall) is the art b&b isn't a hotel but a self contained b&b.
Overall this was a bit a disappointement, during our 4-weeks stay in New Zealand, this was our least good experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrietDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtsContentBnB, Owner at Arts Content Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

We are very sorry that you were so disappointed in your stay at Arts content B and B. We try very hard to make our guests comfortable in every way and have never had anyone before who has been dissatisfied with the accommodation we provide.
We do not advertise that we provide hotel style or serviced apartment style accommodation but rather to provide our guests with a home away from home where they can relax in privacy and yet have recourse to asking our advice about local activities and sights worth seeing.
We were devastated to see this review which is at such variance with all the other reviews that
we have received.
*The kitchen, including the cook-top, sink, fridge, microwave and all surfaces are cleaned very thoroughly every time guests leave and then sprayed with anti-bacterial spray. Cushions, seat covers, curtains and all crockery were new in this room one week before you arrived.
* The bedroom doesn't have to be cold as the heat pump can be turned up or down as desired.
There is also an electric blanket on the bed, extra blankets, the walls are insulated and the window is double glazed. Guests often remark on the warmth of the room when they come in from outside.
* We advertise and provide a self contained apartment with a substantial basket breakfast supplied. On arrival, we make it plain to our guests that the B&B is their private space which we don't enter unless invited. As this is not advertised as a serviced apartment we do not intrude on guest’s privacy by making beds or washing up or providing any other sort of room service. However, if guests stay for more than 3 nights we offer to change sheets and provide fresh towels. We are always on hand to provide guests with advice and assistance when needed but we also respect the privacy of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in early April for three nights and absolutely loved this B&B for a number of reasons. The location was great with lovely views of the water from the deck, magnificent gardens and close proximity to the wonderful sights of the Otago peninsula. The accommodation was clean and cosy with plentiful breakfast provisions and a well equipped little kitchen. The heating was good for the cooler evenings and the queen size bed was comfortable. Our hosts, Alex and Cathy, were very helpful and knowledgeable about the Otago peninsula. Cathy is an artist and has many beautiful paintings in her on site studio while Alex does some guide work at nearby Larnach Castle. It was great to be able to use their washing machine for free as this is not always possible when travelling. There were several options for dinner within 10-20 minutes drive on the peninsula without having to go into Dunedin. That said Dunedin itself is only approximately 20 minutes away and both the drives alongside the water or inland are really picturesque. Overall we would not hesitate to recommend Arts Content B&B for short or longer stays.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytravellers231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here recently and can highly recommend it to those looking for a beautiful, peaceful place to stay. The owners are delightful and the accommodation is comfortable, with a lovely view over the water from the front terrace. The bedroom is downstairs(a steep spiral staircase, if you are not very agile), and looks onto their beautiful garden. They provide a lovely breakfast basket, with delicious jams, muffins, fruit, eggs and bread, and cereals. They are also very helpful with places to eat or visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Burradoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We spent 5 nights in this delightful B & B hosted by kind and considerate Alex and Cathy Semansky. We barely left the Peninsula as there was so much to do and we felt so at home. The garden, the views, the comfort and the bonus gallery of Cathy's amazing paintings was such a draw card that we were sorry to have to leave.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We went to Dunedin one night earlier than originally planned (because we wanted to get out of Invercargill quicker than planned), and fortunately Cathy and Alex were able to accommodate us one additional evening.
The hosts were very friendly, knowledgeable about the Otago peninsula and Dunedin, and very helpful. And Cathy's paintings on the walls made it extra special.
The room was clean and comfortable. But the cherry on top was the sunset views over the harbour -- indescribably beautiful. When (not if) we go back to Dunedin, we will surely stay at Arts Content again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schalk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
4.5 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
770 reviews
4.5 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#8 of 61 in Dunedin
472 reviews
2.8 mi away
Portobello Motel Cottages
Portobello Motel Cottages
#1 of 2 in Portobello
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Longbourne Lodge Country Motel
12.1 mi away
Bonnie Knights Motel
Bonnie Knights Motel
#3 of 4 in Mosgiel
37 reviews
12.2 mi away
Bella Vista Mosgiel Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arts Content Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arts Content Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1 Castlewood Road | Company Bay, Otago Peninsula, Dunedin 9014, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range: $126 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* The Arts Content B&B on the Otago Peninsula, Dunedin, New Zealand, is absolute waterfront, SELF CONTAINED, cottage style accommodation with the added benefit of a substantial basket breakfast supplied and topped up each day. *The B&B is ideal for a couple. * The B&B has free Wi-Fi Internet. *Decorated in country style and set in a beautiful, "secret" garden. * The B&B adjoins our home and has private entrances and off street parking. * Enjoy sweeping, panoramic harbour views from the front deck. * Upstairs is the Comfortable lounge/dining/kitchen. *Downstairs is the spacious bedroom with ensuite. * Share our pleasure in our beautiful, "secret" garden and take the time to stop and smell our 100+ roses. * A generous, basket breakfast comprising eggs, a choice of cereal, fruit juice, fresh fruit in season, a selection of home made jam, fresh crusty bread, home made muffins, home made yoghurt, plunger coffee and English Breakfast Tea is provided. * Within easy reach of the city, we are ideally located to access all the attractions of the Peninsula - Penguins, Albatross, Sea-lions, Seals and stunning scenery. * We provide you with:- •Free Wi-Fi internet so you will be able to connect to the internet. •Free Sky Satellite T.V. •Free, generous basket breakfast.•Free heating (Heat Pump) and hot water •Free use of washing machine and dryer •Free bedding and towels •Free local telephone calls •You will have unrestricted access to the back and front gardens and the huge deck leading from "your" lounge, at the front, overlooking the harbour. •Off street parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Arts Content Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing