We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort, Warmth, and Beautiful Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Edgeley Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 62 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Janet and Alan welcomed us warmly to their roomy and beautifully restored B&B high in the Otago Peninsula near Dunedin. Our well equipped room overlooked green meadows and the ocean, maybe half a mile away. The house was older with appropriate creaks here and there, but the Parkers kept it clean and fully functional. The location was excellent, quiet but within ten minutes of town, and it provided an excellent launch point for exploring the stunning Otago Peninsula. Having the laundry service was a real plus after an extended time on the road. Breakfasts were fresh, tasty, and filling to get us ready for busy days spotting wildlife.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 33 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014

Janet is a very welcoming and friendly host. Edgeley is a beautiful old house set on high ground overlooking the Pacific. Large, spacious and well equipped accommodation. Beautiful view from our bedroom. Perfect location for visiting the Otago peninsula and Dunedin. Janet is obviously very proud to be living in this wonderful house. She told us all about the history of the house and its architect. On her recommendation, we had dinner at a lovely restaurant in Portobello.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThomondFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

A beautiful old house, somewhat in need of a little refurbishing, in a convenient and quiet location. Our hostess, Janet, was gracious and welcoming. The room was clean and well appointed but like much of the house a little musty with age. If you like old, historic inns and don't mind the minor inconveniences of an old building, then this is the place for you.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank AxisOfBeagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Thank you so much for a fantastic time in Dunedin. We stayed two nights and everything was just wonderful. A banana bread special recipe for breakfast, a beautiful view from our room and the owner's hospitality - thanks for offering a full wash service. Even a DVD collection was available to watch a movie in the evening - which we didn't use, but all these things made us feel at home. We highly recommend this B&B, it was our highlight so far on our NZ trip.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rick864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

A lovely Edwardian house with many original features. The large rooms are clean and comfortable. The dressing gowns are very useful for going across the corridor to the bathroom. There is plenty of choice of tea and coffee to make at breakfast. Edgeley is very conveniently positioned for both the city and the peninsula.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scodgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetHazel, Owner at Edgeley Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Oh dear! We seemed to have upset you, but as you did not complain about anything or leave a comment on our in-room questionnaire whilst you were a guest here, we are unaware of what the problem or problems were.

The house was designed by the well-known Dunedin-based architect R.A. Lawson and was built in 1872 which makes it Victorian, not Edwardian. A copy of the history of the house is located in each of our guest rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We spent two nights in the Emery Room in this lovely old house. Janet and Alan were welcoming and provided lots of information on local restaurants. Janet was happy to share the history of the house. The B&B is close to the city centre by car. Ideal for visiting Larnach Castle, Taieri Gorge Train Journey (fantastic) and the Toitu Otago Settlers Museum (free!). Would recommend. Alec and Glenda

Room Tip: Ask for Emery Room other room has separate bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glendajm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetHazel, Owner at Edgeley Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. As a point of note, the Paterson Room (which can sleep up to three people) has a larger, separate bathroom which is private and for the sole use of the guests of the Paterson Room only.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Edgeley is a beautiful house with outstanding views to the Pacific Ocean.

Out towards Anderson Bay and close to the start of the Otago Peninsula.
You can drive into the centre of Dunedin in 10 minutes or take the bus from the road end.

We stayed in the Emery Room which is not only huge but well appointed, Much more hanging space than in any other B&B we stayed in. There are three large windows in this bedroom everyone giving a great view of the Ocean. There is a large showeroom, en-suite.
Tea making facilities, chocs.,TV with freeview and many other facilities are in the room.

The owners, Janet & Alan, have only fairly recently taken on the Edgeley. Janet has researched the previous ownership of the house and the history, which is well worth reading, is enclosed in a folder in the bedroom.

Good choice for breakfast, both cooked and continental.

Its location makes it a great place for touring both Denedin and the Otago Peninsula.

Good luck to Janet & Alan

Room Tip: The Emery has on-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdinburghTartanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetHazel, Owner at Edgeley Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments. Edgeley is a wonderful old house and we feel privileged to be able to live here. It makes it even more special when our guests appreciate the history and location almost as much as we do!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
2.8 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
741 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Argoed Bed & Breakfast
2.9 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 61 in Dunedin
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Alexis Motor Lodge
Alexis Motor Lodge
#5 of 61 in Dunedin
481 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hazel House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
7.0 mi away
Portobello Motel
Portobello Motel
#1 of 2 in Portobello
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgeley Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgeley Bed & Breakfast

Address: 29 Spencer Street | Otago, Dunedin 9013, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range: $114 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer an elite class of accommodation in peaceful surroundings. Listen to the Bellbirds and the sounds of the ocean whilst enjoying one of our delicious home-cooked breakfasts. Service and our guests' comfort is our top priority. We look forward to meeting you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Edgeley Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing