We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome and Perfection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Awesome Tours

Awesome Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Awesome Tours is a privately owned and operated small group tour business providing local scheduled tours, tailor made personalized multi day tours and shore excursion tours to meet your needs. These can include areas such as Milford Sound, Queenstown, West Coast, Mt Cook or the entire South Island. Day tours from Dunedin can include areas such as the Catlins and Moeraki Boulders and the Otago Peninsula. We provide small group scheduled and private shore excursion tours for cruise passengers while in Dunedin including pickup/return from/to Port, Key City Sights, Natures Wonders Argo Wildlife tours ( Yellow Eyed Penguins, NZ Fur Seals and much more) Natures Wonders authentic Sheep Shed experience, Larnach Castle and the Royal Albatross Colony.We look forward to being of service to you.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Campbelltown, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome and Perfection!”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

You truly live up to your name as you are REALLY AWESOME Your Taste of Dunedin Tour was the highlight of ALL of our on-shore NZ tours during our December 2013 cruise and a big THANK YOU for going above and beyond our expectations - especially when that storm hit as we exited the Cadbury Factory with our hands full of chocolate goodies and you picked us up at the door and drove us back to the ship to ensure we wouldn't be late. Thank you and we look forward to meeting up again one day

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    2
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht
Level Contributor
285 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Perfect tour”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I went on a tour with Mark to Dunedin, Larnach Castle and the Nature Wonders Penguin site. Mark picked us up in Port Chalmers at the cruise ship dock as agreed. He first drove us to Dunedin where we had some time to walk around the city on our own. After that we stopped for lunch and drove us first to the Castle and then to the penguins and the seals. He gave us a fantastic tour around the peninsula, with lot's of background on the things we saw and plenty of time to look around. We were back in the harbor about half an hour before we were due.
I would highly recommend Mark's Tours and would book with him again if I am ever back in Dunedin.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Geerlings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome dunedin”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Family of 7 ( ages 22 to 87 years )enjoyed a wonderful full day tour with Mark as an onshore excursion in Dunedin whilst on a cruise. Arrangement of tour was very easy ,Mark was waiting for us at wharf and arranged day as per our requests. Day was enjoyed by all and would highly recommend Mark and awesome tours

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank dinkysydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Awesome, everyone says it but true!!”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Nov 30, we docked at Port Chalmers (Dunedin), which was stacked with logs but the set-up was good and we met up with our guide and driver Mark Dickson of Awesome Tours with no problem at 8:45 am. He had a “trainee” Graham with him. Both were really nice, helpful, friendly guys, happy to explain everything. The drive into Dunedin took 25 minutes and we had an hour to stroll around, sight seeing before meeting back at the isite office. It was St Andrews day but Dunedin was having a quiet Saturday, not much happening. It was sunny and warm but a bit breezy. We strolled around the Octagon in the centre where the main municipal buildings were then went down to the station, past the old courthouse headed to the Queen's Gardens and then the Chinese Garden. Unfortunately, we had forgotten a credit card so couldn't go in although there would have been a 10 minute wait anyway for it to open at 10am. We plodded to the First Church past some nice older buildings. The First Church was rather ornate for a Presbyterian Scottish Church. It was full of people cleaning polishing and hoovering. meeting up with Mark again we set off for our trip, had a look at the steepest urban road in the world, paused at the station and at the university for a photo opportunity then headed through beautiful natural countryside along narrow roads with gorgeous sea views to Lanarch Castle. This was more stately home than castle and restored to its former splendour of the 1880s quite recently. Mark gave us a guided tour of the ground floor and we did the upstairs and climbed the spiral stone staircase to the viewing platform to see all around. The restoration was pretty good, indeed with lots of wood, coloured plaster ceilings, nice floor tiles and a lot of the furniture was actually tracked down and returned to the house by the owner Mrs Barker. No expense has been spared in that house. By luck we were ahead of the various other tour groups so were able to appreciate the rooms unhindered. The gardens were lovely in the bright sunshine with quite a wide variety of garden areas, rockery, kitchen garden, herbaceous planting, naturalistic planting down slopes, lawned areas and a huge Laburnum walkway. Continuing by our mini-bus again through lovely countryside we reached Portobello and had fish n chips for $20 in the pub there which was nice tasty Blue Cod. At some point we looked across to Taiaroa, the rocky headland at the mouth of the Otago harbour and saw the Northern Royal Albatross gliding on the strong wind currents. Next it was the highlight of the day, Nature's Wonders. As separate review for that!
Back on the road Mark pointed out some Spoonbills. We had lots more great scenery to see has we came back along “the low road”. The wind got up and the temperature dropped; there was even some rain but that stopped before we got to a Maori meeting House in proper everyday use and therefore not to be visited and then back to the city for a look inside the train station which only does the touristy Taieri Gorge trip. There was time for a quick detour uphill for an aerial view of the cruise ship and then it was back to the Sun Princess.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sadoldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A awesome tour indeed!”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Our day with Mark and Pat was our self-arranged shore excursion when our cruise ship landed in Dunedin. It cost a fraction of the ship's shore excursion price, and we had a marvellous time.

6 of us went on the Argo Wildlife Adventure with sheep-shearing, and thoroughly enjoyed it. The children enjoyed watching the "hypnotising dogs" round up the sheep. There were some great views of seagulls with chicks and seals with pups too.

Mark is a friendly guy ("Top bloke," enthused one of our party) and tells great anecdotes, and also gives interesting history lessons while driving. He knows little secret local places for special views and the creamiest ice-cream, and was most accommodating toward our group which has an age range of 8 to 73 years. I loved his local knowledge, and appreciated how we could walk into souvenir shops and get a discount just for saying, "We're with Awesome Tours."

2 of us went kayaking with Pat, with whom we felt very safe despite being in the ocean. His kayaks are top quality and almost uncapsizeable. Pat knows little local nooks for viewing seals and birds, and he was very patient in giving us tips on how to kayak properly - quite essential for the 10 km we ended up traversing. He even brought tea and home-made muffins for us to have at the end - a nice touch.

Absolutely highly recommended.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Firstiger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Awesome Tours also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Awesome Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing