We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very impressed with apartments and the welcome from hosts”
Review of Roslyn Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Roslyn Apartments
Ranked #12 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2010

This was a great introduction to New Zealand, our second night in this gorgeous country. The apartments were spacious, well equipped, had terrific views and in a lovely little area - Roslyn. We could walk to supermarket, some nice restaurants, and a great breakfast spot. Lovely views of Dunedin. Prob too far from the centre of town if you didn't have a car. Hosts are very welcoming, and full of life, rather entertaining. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emm071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

320 - 326 of 343 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2010

Roslyn Apartments were recommended to us by a friend, but for us, they surpassed this recommendation. The location was perfect - elevated high above the city with harbour and city views, our rooms were sunny, spacious and very comfortable. Although a quiet suburban area, Roslyn has a great supermarket, shops, cafes and restaurants - all only about 150 meters away. The rooms were clean and well presented and the hosts looked after us very well. I'm sure well be staying there again next time we visit Dunedin.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevieboy1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

We stayed in the two bedroom apartment. It was brilliant - very stylish and roomy with full kitchen facilities. There's a brilliant deck off the living area for outdoor dining and views over the harbour.
There are two supermarkets within walking distance and the cafes and restaurants in Roslyn are very good.
The vibe was definitely apartment style-living rather than a motel room. We found it very user-friendly with plenty of space and facilities. The bride even got dressed from our apartment -hairdresser included!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheresaC5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2010

Our apartment was extremely spacious and well furnished including very comfortable beds. The views over Dunedin are to die for. Our hosts were very pleasant and helpful including advice about the local supermarkets and various food stores and cafes - all on the apartment doorstep. Quality was everywhere and cleanliness excellent. This was a great apartment and very good value.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdelaideCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Roslyn Apartments is in a fantastic location, great views, and the 2 bedroom apartment we had was great for a family. Nice to have DVD's and magazines to choose from. The addition of Sky TV would be a bonus.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erinTeAnau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

The Roslyn Apartments, set up in the hills of Dunedin, provide a very relaxed and homely environment for a stay in New Zealand's South.

As the website mentions, the apartments have been renovated to the highest of standards with comfortable lounges, a decent size kitchen and plenty of space. Supermarkets, cafes and a pharmacy are also within close proximity.

What makes this accommodation really stand out is the little creature comforts that you don't usually get in the bigger chains, such as a small DVD library (free of charge) and a selection of books and mags (although a little old).

Although we were only there for one night, it's somewhere that would suit a night or two, right through to a long term stay. Highly recommended if staying in Dunedin.

Pros:
- gorgeous views
- close to amenities
- personalised service

Cons:
- no shampoo/conditioner supplied

Cons:

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eimaj007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

We had a super time in this great apartment. The apartment was very accommodating to our every need and had all the comforts of home. Have a kitchen area, washing facilities and nice soak in the bath with bubbles. If only had enough time to sit and admire the views with a glass of wine would have filled the spot nicely. oh well will have to go back another time to do that. Our hosts John & Jay definitely pulled out all the stops and with a friendly and kind manor. Enjoyed our stay, see you next time with a wine under my arm.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waterboy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.9 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
751 reviews
0.9 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.8 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#11 of 61 in Dunedin
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#10 of 61 in Dunedin
295 reviews
6.6 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#6 of 61 in Dunedin
645 reviews
0.9 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roslyn Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roslyn Apartments

Address: 23 City Road | Roslyn, Dunedin 9010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range: $157 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roslyn Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury one and two bedroom apartments in Dunedin. 3 minutes drive from the centre of town. Stunning city and harbour views. Restaurants and supermarket on our doorstep. A real home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roslyn Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing