We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good motel apartment but with a few drawbacks”
Review of Roslyn Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Roslyn Apartments
Ranked #10 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2014

As usual, I chose this apartment because of the reviews, and I was not wrong. Other reviews made it a "no-brainer" to stay here. However, parking was not guaranteed, rooms were not serviced, bedroom was small with little provision for luggage. On the other hand, it was in a nice high position with lovely views over Dunedin; washing machine, dryer, dishwasher, DVDs, free WIFI. Helpful and knowledgeable manager. Shopping centre and restaurants a minute's walk away. Short walk downhill to town and $10 cab fare back up that hill! Go to the restaurant overlooking the city (forgotten its name) - the 10% discount from the motel makes it very good value for excellent food. We had the bluff oysters on our manageress' advice and were not disappointed. You need a day on the Otago Peninsula, Olveston the stately home is worth a visit. Museum was excellent and free. Chinese Gardens give free parking for the entry fee.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Poodlejosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslynapts, Owner at Roslyn Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Hi. I remember you girls well. You loved the apartments and Dunedin so much you stayed another day. You were in Apartment 7 and it has a 2 1/2 meter long wardrobe for all clothes and suitcases, plus the separate lounge, so I think you have got us a little confused with another place. Have a great trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 350 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

Our 2 bedroom apartment was neat, clean and quiet, with a wonderful view of Dunedin. The managers were very accommodating and made suggestions for tours and eating. They also arranged a wildlife tour for us and made our dinner reservations. The apartment is within very close walking distance of a restaurant, coffee/wine bar and a pharmacy. The city itself is a longer walk downhill and an even longer walk UPHILL. We chose to drive. The only other negative was that only one person at a time could use the wifi service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslynapts, Manager at Roslyn Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2014

Thank you for your review and that you enjoyed the views from your apartment. Dunedin City won the Gigatown competition and very soon the city will be the first is Australasia to have the highest speed internet available. We are very much looking forward to that!

kind regards
The Team at Roslyn Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

How many apartments are equipped with a washing machine, dryer and dishwasher? We only came across on other during our six week tour. Very useful too. The apartment itself was clean and light and we enjoyed our three nights. As others have commented, Dunedin is a hilly city but our sixty year old legs walked down to the centre in 20 minutes and back in about half an hour. The highlight of the visit for us was the Otago peninsula.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Korsakoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslynapts, Manager at Roslyn Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2014

The apartments are well equipped and so often the washing machine is the first appliance to be switched on!! Thank you for taking the time to post a review we hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in NZ.

kind regards
The Team at Roslyn Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Lovely welcome from the owners, the apartment was well equipped, comfortable and tastefully furnished.
This is a very good base to stay when visiting Dunedin, which is a beautiful city with loads of character and the surrounding area, Otago Peninsula is also stunning.
Roslyn is high up over Dunedin and has a "village" Like atmosphere.
There are supermarkets and shops within walking distance and several take aways and a very good restaurant "Luna" which is worth a visit.
We stayed for 2 nights but you need 3 or more to see all that Dunedin has to offer.
The owners supply a lot of information on local attractions and are a very useful source of advice on trips.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Janice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslynapts, Manager at Roslyn Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Hi, Thank you Janice T for writing a review for us.
We love Dunedin and are so happy to help arrange tours and what to see in Dunedin. We could keep you entertained for a week :)

Kind regards Jay and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We recently spent 3 weeks in Australia and New Zealand, staying in five different cities. Our favorite apartment was the Roslyn Apartment in Dunedin. The one-bedroom that we stayed in was roomy enough for 3 adults. The full kitchen was fully equipped, best we had during our trip. Having laundry available inside the apartment was another big plus for us as we were traveling light and needed to wash clothes every few days. Donna was very helpful to recommend and help book tourist attractions for us. Dunedin is hilly and the apartments are at the top of a pretty steep hill, but we are in our sixties and made the walk up and down the hill several times during our stay. The walk down to the CBD is only 10-15 minutes. There is a supermarket for groceries very nearby. We also enjoyed sitting outside our apartment on the bench provided to enjoy the view in the evenings. Their friendly cat usually joined us. There was a very nice selection of movie DVDs available to watch, although we had so much fun sightseeing that we didn't have much time to spend in the apartment!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryanwhob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslynapts, Manager at Roslyn Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Thank you for your review and deciding to stay to with us. Our cat Mooch has discovered how to get lots of pats and attention my being cute and friendly.

It is wonderful you all enjoyed your stay with us.

kind regards
Donna and Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This was our first visit to Dunedin, so researched a place to stay and found Roslyn Apartments. We were not disappointed! This is a small complex, and operated privately by the excellent and helpful Donna and Bruce. The apartment was very modern, with all "mod cons", a wonderful kitchen and TV and all you could want. The heating was, on occasion , very efficient and welcome. DVD's and books were in plentiful supply in the apartment. The best feature maybe was the great view over Dunedin and to the Otago Peninsula. Parking was usually not a problem; once we had to park on street, but generally parking spots were available. Location: it is in Roslyn Village, which is a very hilly suburb of Dunedin, so walking to town is a long downhill, and getting back (for most people!) is a taxi. However, the village of Roslyn has several good restaurants, and we tried three, and the stand out is Luna, which is one of the best restaurants in Dunedin, with fantastic views and food. And supermarkets, all a few minutes walk from the apartments. So, provided you are happy to drive to town, or use the ( inexpensive and friendly) taxis, I would recommend this as a great place to stay. Would definitely stay there again if in beautiful Dunedin.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Xarz2dt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslynapts, Manager at Roslyn Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

It is wonderful you enjoyed you stay with us. There is such a picturesque shortcut walk down to the city which is an easy 15mins. As you discovered the walk up is a bit more energetic and catching the bus up or a taxi is an easy, cheap and usually welcome option!

Thank you for taking the time to do a review for us, we hope to see you again next time.

kind regards
Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

My wife and I stayed for two nights. What a view of the city we had from our apartment. Very clean and well equipped, able to cook breakfast, lunch or dinner. Close to good eating places in the Roslyn village. The managers where very helpful with info about Dunedin and the things to do. I found the bed so comfortable I would liked to have taken it home with me. Well worth the stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank william e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslynapts, Manager at Roslyn Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at Roslyn Apartments. I love to give advice on the many attractions that Dunedin has, so many things to do...there is something for everybody.

We often get comments on the comfort of our beds and you are not the first per on to say they wish they could take them home!

Looking forward to seeing you both again the next time you are in Dunedin.

kind regards
Donna and Bruce Suszko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.9 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
761 reviews
0.9 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.4 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 61 in Dunedin
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#12 of 61 in Dunedin
787 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Dunedin
Best Western Dunedin
#18 of 61 in Dunedin
288 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roslyn Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roslyn Apartments

Address: 23 City Road | Roslyn, Dunedin 9010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range: $146 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roslyn Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury one and two bedroom apartments in Dunedin. 3 minutes drive from the centre of town. Stunning city and harbour views. Restaurants and supermarket on our doorstep. A real home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Roslyn Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing