We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best value”
Review of Chalet Backpackers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunedin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Backpackers
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Chalet provides clean, friendly and very affordable historic building located near central Dunedin. Cheryl and staff are helpful and approachable. Excellent value for the cost. Sadly didn't see any ghosts, but the building has an interesting history. Thoroughly recommend it.

Heather

Room Tip: Our room was the old theatre so big and with basins, close to the lounge and quiet.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for Chalet Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 19 of 39 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with my fiancé here for two nights although wish it had been longer! Fantastic little place which is comfy and inviting on the inside, as well as having a very well equipped kitchen and comfy beds too! No bunks as far as I'm aware too!

The stories of a ghost of an old man smoking a pipe in the pool room I thought were fantastic too. No haunting a were had, although that would've added to the unique atmosphere around I guess :)

Fantastic hosts too, even going out of their way to drop us at our bus. Can't really ask for anymore than that to be honest!

Oh and free tea and coffee is as sweet as too btw! I'll miss this place and the beautiful Dunedin too, Edinburgh of the South :) thank you!!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Metallimaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Chalet is a friendly, cozy hostel in an old hospital building, villa style. The rooms are spacy, bright and friendly. Staff (Cheryl) is super friendly and makes you feel at home. You will ven have the change of seeing a ghost:)
Location is all right, close to the center, however, a little walk up a steep hill.
The kitchen is well equipped, rooms and showers are clean.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 256Julian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I must admit Chalet Backpackers wasn't my first choice when I started planning my trip to Dunedin, but I'm glad I stayed there! The owner was friendly and helpful. Because it's winter the place was pretty empty, which I loved. I even had a night all to myself in my dorm!
Rooms are pretty big, so all dorms have plenty of space! And the beds are REAL BEDS, no bunks! That always makes me smile.
The common areas are good, clean and well-kept. Everything was super clean all the time! The place can be a little dark sometimes, but once you learn where the switches are, this problem is solved.
Unfortunately, during my last night, due to heavy rains, my dorm had 5 leaks! It's an old house, so I get that can happen.
Anyway, it was a great place to relax and enjoy Dunedin during winter! Would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giulistuber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed in June and it was freezing in the hostel and rooms - there were hot water bottles to keep us warm and a little heater which did very little. It did seem a bit of a ghost hostel too as there were very few people staying there in the big building and no staff most of the time.
I guess in summer it would be quite nice but in winter you just want a warm place to stay.

Pros: big rooms and kitchen, friendly staff, good price, location close to town (10 minute walk down hill), nice showers, communal room with guitar

Cons: cold, none of the tvs work as they haven't changed to freeview, pool room locked when we were there, lots of the hobs in the kitchen didn't work, expensive internet, up a hill, lack of staff presence - we had to call a number on arrival to check in to the building as we arrived a bit later than time given

Overall, a ok stay but maybe better options if you want to keep warmer!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcladley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We visited this place after a horrible journey to Dunedin, the weather was awful and to be honest we had tried other hostels which we couldn't get into because they were full: so we were p*ssed off and just couldn't wait to just check into a hostel and chill out. Needless to say this place made us feel right at home, and cheered us up. The rooms were cosy if a bit old-fashioned. Nice old wooden staircase. Big TV room (though the TV didn't work - slight problem there).
There were LOADS of nice touches like the decorations around the place, the radio playing in the communal dining area, friendly signs hanging around, loads of tourist information leaflets if you weren't sure what to do with your stay, a pool room and the use of hot water bottles!! Which we definitely needed on the chilly night we stayed. Showers were hot and fine.
The electricity went upstairs while we were there which wasn't necessarily the hostel's fault.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ep2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Cheryl and Debbie (Weds) great hosts. Kept very clean. Place is really well cared for. Security is really good: everyone nas to check in properly with ID: great! Any signs are written with a bit of fun, so you feel relaxed. My single room for 7 nights was the best value in the South Island for me.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benjawilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.5 mi away
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
#55 of 61 in Dunedin
108 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
1.2 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#8 of 61 in Dunedin
440 reviews
0.6 mi away
On Top Backpackers
On Top Backpackers
#4 of 44 in Dunedin
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Backpackers

Address: 296 High Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Dunedin
Price Range: $14 - $19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 80

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing