We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Great Place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunedin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Callies Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 63 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Wangaratta, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a Great Place!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We recently had the opportunity to stay on the Otago Peninsula at Callies. This is a wonderful place with fantastic owners. They looked after our every need and took great care to look after all the little extras that made our stay so special.

Highly Recommend!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
37
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

What a fabulous place to end our stay in NZ! We had 2 excellent nights at Callies at the end of February, and wished we could have stayed longer. Jenny and Bruce were fantastic hosts, and we were treated like old friends, not visitors. The room was large and very comfortable, the balcony had lovely views of the bay, and breakfasts were excellent. The Otago peninsula was a beautiful, unexpected treat. The only surprise is that Jenny and Bruce do not expect to get the rave reviews they fully merit!! Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave_Eleanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had a fabulous 2 night stay at Jenny and Bruce's accommodation. The bedroom upstairs is nice and large with a sitting area and also has a balcony. Our hosts recommended some scenic rides (we were on motorbike) and Jenny drove us in her car to Albatross Centre (we did not have enough petrol to get back to town otherwise) Most generous hosts, they even shared their wine with us!! Made our 2 week bike trip around South Island memorable. HIGHLY RECOMMEND and a big 'thank you' again to our hosts. From Marco and Caroline, Somerset West, South Africa

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koblenz, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Bruce and Jenny were great hosts. Lots of tips on wildlife as Bruce has helped at the Albatross Centre, the breakfast was really good. It was particularly nice that Bruce and Jenny sat with us at breakfast so we could chat at leisure. The bedroom was fine. If Otago was closer to Europe we'd go back like a shot! Stunning countryside, lovely beaches with dozing sea-lions, an entertaining, committed French zoologist at Penguin Place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bco49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Our night stay at Callies was part of a breathtaking visit to New Zealand. It was late and we were tired but Bruce and Jenny made us feel right at home. Loved the room, felt like we were in a mountain chalet, we highly recommend.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lisa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Bruce and Jenny are wonderful hosts and can give you great tips on finding wildlife. Lots of winding roads take you to breathtaking views of rolling fillf seashores and farms. Rics fish and chips is the best blue cod. Cozy room, comfy bed, yummy breakfasts. We stayed for 3 days.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeL911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Callies is a perfect place to stay if visiting the Otago Peninsula. A great welcome from Jenny and Bruce who are keen to offer any help or advice you may need.Breakfast is a delight, and the room was spacious, clean and comfortable.Location is also good being only a short stroll from a small supermarket and 2 restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanOliver21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
2.1 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
626 reviews
2.5 mi away
Camp Estate at Larnach Castle
0.4 mi away
Treetops B&B
Treetops B&B
#1 of 1 in Portobello
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
The Argoed Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Portobello Motel
Portobello Motel
#1 of 2 in Portobello
462 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hazel House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Callies Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Callies Bed & Breakfast

Property: Callies Bed & Breakfast
Address: 45 Harington Point Road | Portobello, Otago Peninsula, Dunedin 9014, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable Queen room with en-suite bathroom, includes lounge area and private balcony with stunning views over Portobello Bay. Tea and coffee making facilities, microwave and fridge in room. Free Wifi internet. Warm and friendly hospitality. Close to Otago Peninsula wildlife attractions, golf course and walking tracks. Five minute walk to restaurant, cafe, hotel and grocery shop. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing