We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality Establishment Here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Everyday Gourmet

Everyday Gourmet
Ranked #33 of 325 Restaurants in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand, European, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quality Establishment Here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

This cafe/restaurant is sophisticated with high quality fare and excellent staff. Really nice food, great selection, coffee very good and on the shelves is an unusually enticing range of exotic foods, sauces and oils, make ideal gifts for a foodie (or wife), highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    36
    10
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
156 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

The three of us had breakfast here quite early on a weekday as we were on our way to the University for an appointment. This cafe is a short walk from the campus so many of the customers seem to have connections there. I have breakfasted here before, so I just want to report that it is clean, bright and cheery, with very good service and only a short wait for our food. We sat in the downstairs area, which is comfortable, probably warmer on a cold morning. Our orders of pancakes, toast with mushrooms and tomato, or eggs benedict were all up to expectations. My eggs were nicely done with soft centres, but with more benedict than I wanted to eat, and nicely presented. The pancakes were also nicely presented and appeared to be soft and tasty. Our colleague with the toast enjoyed it and quickly demolished it. This time we didn't have time for coffee (yes, really!), but past experience as great. There are several coffee shop places along the street that are similar and probably worth trying, but I know Everyday Gourmet is very good and consistent and would return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eudele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Everything tastes great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Everything I've tried here is terrific. However, the range is limited. I would like to see more choice, especially for vegetarians.
Love that they have a wall of produce where you can shop and take home some good quality products.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank anomaly14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrific coffee shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Great coffee and good selection of food. Fast and friendly service, plus a selection of preserves and relishes to buy; - we had been searching for the brands they stock so thank you. We would make this our must- visit when we return to Dundein

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

We were in dunedin last week after cycling the otago trail and i trapped into tripadvisor to source a yummy cafe for breakfast. Everyday gourmet popped up and sounded great i had to convince my 3 friends to walk 5 blocks from our hotel passing many cafes on our way. And when we arrived there was no seats upstairs so we ordered and headed down stairs to await breaky. Well it was worth the walk Breakfast could not be faulted and have to say best eggs benedict ive wver had. I told the owner we came because of trip advisor and he gave us a free cuppa coffee each.. nice guy. Great food

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NureeTauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Everyday Gourmet also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Everyday Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing