We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”
Review of Chapel Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chapel Apartments
Ranked #8 of 62 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have stayed in these apartments twice now and just love them! Recently we stayed in the two bedroom apartment with our two girls and found it perfect. Everything we needed was there from washer/dryer to en-suites off each room. Beds are very comfortable and warm (with electric blankets) and one of the en-suites has a stunning shower installed:) Kitchen is very well equipped and the service is second to none! Furnished to a very high standard indeed. Thanks Jon, will hopefully be back to stay in one of the three bedroom apartments next trip!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon L, Owner at Chapel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

We look forward to having you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 135 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at this excellent apartment hotel for three weeks and have nothing but praise. Jon made our stay a most pleasant experience, he was the perfect host in each and every respect.
The location is perfect, the apartments are tastefully furnished, and provide all the amenities a
traveller could wish for. If anyone wants to enjoy Dunedin the place to do it from is Chapel
Apartments, where parting truly becomes a sweet sorrow.

Room Tip: All rooms would be perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kwjonrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

A church conversion, into apartments and just fabulous! Would definitely choose over a hotel. The apartment was well fitted out and would be attractive to families as well as friends traveling together. Beds were very comfortable and the apartments were extremely quiet. Fabulous central location means walking distance to entertainment and restaurants. The owner John was fabulous, so helpful and a pleasure to deal with. Thanks so much for a fabulous stay and an awesome concert!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Live_it_every_Day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Everything was perfect. Clean, tidy, spacious and a friendly owner. Close to the centre of town. Cooking facilities make it attractive. Without hesitation it would be the first place we would book when we return again to Dunedin.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isabel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon L, Owner at Chapel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Many thanks for your fantastic review. We hope to see you here again.

Jon Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

3 of us stayed for 2 nights at 2 bedroom apartment. First of all, great location near Octagon, short walking distance to restaurants, bars and shopping. When we arrived, it was a wonderful experience staying inside a converted church - who would've thought that the apartment itself is within a chapel! The apartment is fully equipped with everything you need, and very clean. The rooms are ensuite with a huge queen sized bed which was very comfortable (extra pillows and duvets also included), and a new massive bathroom. Free wi-fi included. Definitely will return again and strongly recommend to anyone who's travelling to Dunedin!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon L, Owner at Chapel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you for your fantastic review of the apartment.

Jon Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment. As soon as we arrived we were immediately enchanted with the build of the apartments inside an old church. The apartment itself is excellent, very well maintained and equipped. Free wi-fi. Jon was very helpful and ensured that we were well looked after. Located just 5 minutes walk from the Octagon in the centre of Dunedin.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Originally booked into the Chapel Apartment in central Dunedin, our booking was cancelled by the owner due to a long staying tenant. This was highly inconvenient, as by the time he cancelled, every other family accommodation in town was booked out. Therefore, we had no option but to use the other apartment which he owns.
Not close to town, a supermarket, a dairy or any other amenities. Without a car you will be stuck here. At the very least a few basic breakfast supplies could be included given that there are no options to purchase nearby.
Loud road noise throughout the night caused problems with sleeping.
Suitable for friends staying together, but not for a family as children's bedroom is 2 floors down from adults. Very steep stairs would also be a problem for those with impaired mobility.
Nice art, warm apartment but certainly would not stay again because of location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwitravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.8 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
751 reviews
0.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#11 of 61 in Dunedin
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.8 mi away
The Argoed Bed & Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#8 of 61 in Dunedin
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapel Apartments

Address: 81 Moray Place, Dunedin, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range: $129 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chapel Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chapel Apartments offers a unique accommodation experience. An innovative contemporary design finished to the highest standard housed in an historical building, the oldest church (1863) in Dunedin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chapel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing