We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dunedin gem”
Review of Milton House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Milton House
Ranked #29 of 63 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dunedin gem”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Thanks to Ali and Richard for making us stay in Dunedin for two nights - we weren't going to but thanks to the cricket we had to! We found the location wonderful being very close to that St Clair heated salt water pool which was a treat yet only about 10 minutes from the city centre. Our room had a panoramic view across to the beach and city. It was very clean with a modern bathroom, heated tiled floor and all the special touches. Alison's breakfasts and Richard's log fires were definitely a highlight. An excellent end to our two weeks in the south island of NZ.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
19
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Ali and Richard the owners of Milton House have created a beautiful historic home. They are most welcoming and friendly. The room was excellent with very comfortable bedding and bed. The bathrooms are roomy and modern. They treated me to afternoon tea with fresh baking which I appreciated after a very long driving day. The breakfasts were delicious with lots of choice. I really enjoyed the St. Clair's outdoor hot saltwater swimming pool a 5 minute walk from Milton House. Definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne_dobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed at Milton for 3 nights at thie start of their summer. The house is done to an exceptional standard with beautiful rooms, all bedrooms have their own individual bathrooms which really are very nice plus beds are very comfy! Hosts at Milton House were lovely and welcoming and made us feel at home. Breakfast had a great choice with something for everyone. Milton house is in a great location in walking distance to St Clair beach that has a nice swimming pool and close enough the city centre for other activities e.g speights brewery, cadbury world, museums etc. It is also close to the stunning peninsula drive. We look forward to returning and will be sending other family members in the future!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camers253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
als1883, Owner at Milton House, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
lovely to have met you both and every good wish for your travels and futures!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for the rugby, just one night, but would have loved to have moved right in! Ali & Richard are such wonderful hosts, so warm and welcoming. The open fire was Beautiful and the house has been done up to an exceptional standard. Would absolutely reccommend this to anyone looking for somewhere nice to stay a b&b is such a nice alternative to a hotel, lovely and close to St Clair - in my opinion the nicest part of Dunedin. Our room was big, the bed super comfy. Look forward to staying there next time!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank meegals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Spent one night at Milton House (13 June 2012) for business with a work colleauge. I don't usually stay in B&B's when travelling on business, but this was an exceptional experience. Richard picked us up from the airport on a cold winter's evening. Excellent supper provided. Great room and super bed. Wonderful breakfast. Perfect hosts. Andrew H.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
als1883, Owner at Milton House, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thankyou Andrew, it got even colder when you departed!! Hope to see you again, maybe on the Milford Tramp?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We recently stayed at Milton House, our first stop in New Zealand. It is a lovely b & b, run by a great host, Ali (Richard was out of town), who helped us plan our stay. An elegant and delicious breakfast was served in front of a roaring fire. Nice location near St Clair beach, just 10 minutes from downtown.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savytrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
als1883, Owner at Milton House, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Thankyou, we hope you enjoyed your Catlins trip, happy Easter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Milton House is a wonderful place. Ali and Richard are the most brilliant hosts and will ensure that your stay is perfect. There is no way that I can do justice to their customer service so I will try my best with ‘simply magnificent’.
The views from the rooms are quite remarkable and the proximity to the St Clair beach area is superb. If you want something special book into this beautiful historic house for a unique experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
7.8 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#8 of 61 in Dunedin
619 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St Clair
Hotel St Clair
#24 of 61 in Dunedin
91 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hydro Esplanade Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Lisburn House
Lisburn House
#20 of 63 in Dunedin
74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Esplanade Motel & Apartments
2.6 mi away
Edgeley Bed & Breakfast
Edgeley Bed & Breakfast
#17 of 63 in Dunedin
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milton House

Property: Milton House
Address: 116 Norfolk Street | St Clair, Dunedin 9012, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Milton House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and share the seaside hospitality in a luxurious Heritage home. Close to golf courses,ice stadium, horse racing track, croquet, tennis courts, bowls stadium and gateway to the Otago Penninsula wildlife area. The views of the city and beaches are magnificent from the king en-suite bedrooms which are spacious and light and warm, beautifully furnished with crisp linens and quality toiletries. You will enjoy lots of extra touches and the breakfasts are a gourmet delight. We are near the vibrant cafe and restaurant area of the Esplanade, and the hot salt water pool and surfing beach. The CBD is 15 minutes drive and the airport is 30 minutes away. Safe and quiet for the solo traveller or the discerning corporate client. Space to spread out for families with older children (12 yr and over). Guests have own dining area with open fire, minibar, board games and CD/music and tea/coffee facilities. The lounge has SKY, piano, books, port, chocolates and free wifi throughout. Parking is on and off street and the property is non smoking with no pets. Visa and Mastercard are accepted with a 2% transaction fee.Internet banking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Milton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing