We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taj Mahal

Taj Mahal
Ranked #267 of 325 Restaurants in Dunedin
Cuisines: Indian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We went to the Taj Mahal on the first night of our stay. Great service. great food, great value for money. Would definitely recommend.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank World_Wide_05_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    27
    11
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Been to Taj Mahal a few times and stopped going after a dodgy meal which was probably the worst korma I'd ever had. Many months later i planned to go there with friends for a birthday and had a reservation. We turned up and they said we didn't make a reservation - even though my friend pointed out his name and number in the book and they sent us away. Obviously they had double booked us but gave us no good explanation. Worst experience I've had dining out.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Deexxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Average Indian”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

This was just OK, not great. The staff were not great communicators so the service could have been better. It wasn't as clean as I would have liked. Some of the chairs were filthy with evidence of many previous episodes of spilt food and whatever else all over them. It does seem to be popular and busy. The prices are reasonable but the food is not spectacular. I enjoyed my meal but some of the people I was with were less pleased.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AntipodeanGenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Lunch Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Service is always excellent and I often have lunch here with Gluten Free friends as it is one lunch venue hwere they alsways get spoilt for choice.
i always try something different on each visit athough I always order a mango lassi (Yum)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Good value and well cooked dishes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Having seen the other reviews we weren't expecting much but were very satisfied by this little place on George Street. Service was efficient, the prices for both food and beverages very reasonable and the cooking very decent. We had a range of dishes and enjoyed them all, including raita, breads etc. etc. Not to be missed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bognor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj Mahal also viewed

 
Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Taj Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing