We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch”
Review of Alto Cafe

Alto Cafe
Ranked #107 of 346 Restaurants in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My teenage daughter (vegetarian) and I had a really enjoyable lunch today. Great service with fresh, tasty unpretentious food, nicely cooked and presented. My daughter changed her order some time after we had paid and been seated. This was no problem to the staff. The new order was cheaper than the original, and the difference was returned to our table in cash with a smile. Well done. A good menu as well as lots of fresh cabinet food a little different to the norm meant it was easy for my daughter to find something suitable. I enjoyed the best flat white I have had in Dunedin!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andyhab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    13
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The amazing Alto!”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Our daughter, who is 8, reports the following: I loved the pancakes because they were very big and sweet. I had them both times we went. Dad had bacon and eggs, once because they serve breakfast all day; another time, he had soup. My brother had a big breakfast (which was enormous and you could choose a couple of things) and he also had a burger, which he didn't like so much.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank family-traveler256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mothers day brunch”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

My daughter and I had brunch at Alto today, busy place and we didn't book. We arrived at 12 and the lovely young lady let us have a table that was booked for 1pm. Very friendly staff. Cabinet food was plentiful.

We ordered off the menu, which was well priced and had a great selection. We had the mothers day special, raspberry pancakes. These were so yummy! Light & fluffy. It was also nice to see a healthier option of pancakes served with natural yoghurt and maple syrup served on the side, which was delicious and left us able to put on how much we liked :). We also had the home made muesli which came with honey, fresh fruit salad and yoghurt. Fantastic, all the flavours went together beautifully and it was so fresh and crunchy- best muesli I've had!!!

We both highly recommend this Cafe! It also features in this years entertainment book which was a added bonus! Alto - keep up the great work!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best chips and aoili in town”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Yummy food, big portions. Good for brunch or lunch.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank snonad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
178 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good place to drop in for a quick meal and coffee”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Good menu and great bustling atmosphere. Lots of windows and light.

Helpful?
Thank blowenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alto Cafe also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Alto Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing