We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff and awesome showers.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunedin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hogwartz Backpacker Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We enjoyed a night here in a double room that was massive and had great views of the cathedral. The backpackers is ideally located, the staff were very friendly and helpful too. The vibe is relaxed and grown-up for a backpackers, which was great. The dining room is particularly nice for a meal, the real surprise was how hot and powerful the showers were. Possibly the best showers we've ever experienced at a backpackers!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graybu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 229 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

Friendly hostel with a good atmosphere. Close to everything you need, including the octagon for artsy type events. Is a little dated and worn, kitchen and bathrooms are newer but the latter are rather infrequent.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I've stayed at Hogwartz twice and been impressed both times. The place is quiet, clean and very reasonably priced. The beds are comfortable and, if you're lucky, you can meet some great people there too. The shared dorm rooms are some of the best I've encountered and the single room I stayed in on my last stay was more than adequate. The staff are friendly and there is an affordable laundry service that has always been amenable to my very specific laundry requirements. A few tips though: Dunedin is famously a hilly locale, so the walk to the hostel is quite demanding. Also, if you have the opportunity, use the downstairs bathroom; it's slightly hidden but a much better showering experience than the rest.

Room Tip: As noted by Lonely Planet, the highlight of this hostel is its dorm rooms. These are substantially b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markinperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Firstly I must say a huge thank you to the staff who stayed late, allowing us to check in after our train was late in. They didn't make us feel bad at all and were very welcoming and helpful. We stayed in the coach house for three nights. This additional area has been tastefully fitted out and is a very comfortable well designed space. The kitchen is a delight and the shower fantastic. The room was quite warm overnight and had we been staying longer would have mentioned it to see if there was anything that could have been done. We were in the bottom room and while it didn't bother us at all you can hear when people are moving about in the top room so if this could be an issue for you, best ask for the top room. We only had a brief look in the main hostel so can't comment. It is in a great spot in Dunedin and really easy to walk into town. Again thank you to the understanding and helpful staff. A great short stay.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank KTandCoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Needs modernising. Furniture, beds, kitchen – all a bit worn. Dorm room smelt damp. Little signs everywhere explaining the rules put me in mind of a boarding school dormitory, not a modern hostel. Bathrooms quite new, but insufficient for the number of guests. No free wi-fi. Positives: clean and close to town.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamiddlebrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in a triple room with beautiful views of the church from the lovely bay window. The staff were great and the hostel very clean and tidy. Loved the big bathroom downstairs as nowhere to put things in the upstairs shower rooms. The price you pay for converting such a fantastic house into budget accommodation. Great water pressure. Walked to the Octagon most days. Ideally situated to access the town and certainly improved our fitness with the hills!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue_and_Trev0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights in a triple room. Couldn't really fault the hostel at all, friendly and helpful staff, very clean, good facilities and very relaxed place. Some reviews have complained about location but in Dunedin which is a hilly city the walk uphill from the city centre didn't bother us and it was only 5-10 minutes anyway. One of the best hostels we have stayed at in NZ.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlistDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.4 mi away
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
#56 of 61 in Dunedin
113 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.8 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#8 of 61 in Dunedin
450 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manor House Backpackers
Manor House Backpackers
#7 of 44 in Dunedin
139 reviews
0.3 mi away
On Top Backpackers
On Top Backpackers
#5 of 44 in Dunedin
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hogwartz Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hogwartz Backpacker Hostel

Address: 277 Rattray Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Dunedin
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hogwartz is a Backpacker Hostel with a wide spectrum of room types. Budget travellers enjoy their shared rooms with up to six beds (no bunks) or the private rooms with shared facilities. For those who prefer a little bit more privacy and luxury, they have a beautifully rebuilt, self-contained cottage (the Coach House) available with two en suite rooms and a shared full kitchen. And at the top end of the spectrum, there are two stylish, fully self-contained studio rooms (the Stables) to spoil yourselves with. Per person prices range from $26 to $58 per night, and there is some complimentary wifi at fibre-optics speed. Located a short distance uphill from the city centre, Hogwartz is a hostel for grown-ups: it is not suitable for party crowds or for small children (minimum age 12years). Free car parking is available on surrounding streets, and the walk into the Octagon takes roughly 5min. There are no gimmicks, no false promises here, just genuine quality accommodation and service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hogwartz Backpacker Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing