We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunedin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hogwartz Backpacker Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Needs updating”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Needs modernising. Furniture, beds, kitchen – all a bit worn. Dorm room smelt damp. Little signs everywhere explaining the rules put me in mind of a boarding school dormitory, not a modern hostel. Bathrooms quite new, but insufficient for the number of guests. No free wi-fi. Positives: clean and close to town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamiddlebrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    79
    19
    4
    7
See reviews for
12
87
66
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in a triple room with beautiful views of the church from the lovely bay window. The staff were great and the hostel very clean and tidy. Loved the big bathroom downstairs as nowhere to put things in the upstairs shower rooms. The price you pay for converting such a fantastic house into budget accommodation. Great water pressure. Walked to the Octagon most days. Ideally situated to access the town and certainly improved our fitness with the hills!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue_and_Trev0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights in a triple room. Couldn't really fault the hostel at all, friendly and helpful staff, very clean, good facilities and very relaxed place. Some reviews have complained about location but in Dunedin which is a hilly city the walk uphill from the city centre didn't bother us and it was only 5-10 minutes anyway. One of the best hostels we have stayed at in NZ.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlistDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed at Hogwartz for one night in February. While it was a little hard to find at first, we made it there. The staff were friendly on our arrival and explained to us where to park our car on a nearby residential street. Unfortunately they do not have parking for travellers with cars on site, but there is a loading bay that makes it easy to drop your bags at the door.

The kitchens were well equipped and large enough to accommodate a few groups of patrons cooking at once. The dining room was cosy but gave a nice familial atmosphere as everyone came together to eat their meals there.

The decor was colourful and amusing and the room, while sparsely furnished, was reasonably comfortable, albeit the bed was a bit spongy.

The staff were very friendly and offered us some great advice about visiting local attractions and restaurants.

We would stay at Hogwartz again if back in Dunedin.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DK5177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

As all other reviewers have said, great hostel, quiet, lovely kitchens and facilities, awesome staff and some fabulous views. The only downside for my friend and I was that although we could open our window - to open it far enough to get a good breeze through one of us couldn't use the bed that was under it!!!!! so maybe some AC or a room rearrangement would help? Boy were we hot those three nights we stopped! The beds were really comfy and everywhere was so clean. The Octagon within easy walking distance, coming back is slightly harder as its all uphill! I would certainly return here if I was in Dunedin again.

Room Tip: if its hot check where the sun is otherwise you will boil in bed!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzycut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

There is a sense of achievement initially finding Hogwartz. There was a very friendly and thorough welcome with helpful advice and suggestions. We were staying in the Coach House which has been refurbished to a very high standard with a high quality finish. The accommodation is for two couple each with separate shower and toilet. The kitchen is a communal area for the guests. The finish is so good I almost feel churlish mentioning the lack of WIFI (it is available in the main building) and lack of sockets near a mirror (tho there are plenty not).

Dunedin is built at the bottom of a hill so it's a five minute walk back up hill from town which is not a problem unless you have mobility restrictions, tho there may be problems anywhere in town.

I'd stay there again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank united33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was our favorite hostel on the South Island of New Zealand. We had a room with private facilities which was very clean and cosy. The staff was very friendly and provided us with excellent recommandations how to explore the city and the peninsula (special thanks to Sandy). The kitchen was well equipped and very clean. We would have stayed longer, but were running out of time.

Room Tip: Room 10 on first floor is very calm and cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DieMara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 61 in Dunedin
744 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
97 Motel Moray
97 Motel Moray
#32 of 61 in Dunedin
124 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#9 of 61 in Dunedin
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hogwartz Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hogwartz Backpacker Hostel

Property: Hogwartz Backpacker Hostel
Address: 277 Rattray Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Dunedin
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hogwartz is a Backpacker Hostel with a wide spectrum of room types. Budget travellers enjoy their shared rooms with up to six beds (no bunks) or the private rooms with shared facilities. For those who prefer a little bit more privacy and luxury, they have a beautifully rebuilt, self-contained cottage (the Coach House) available with two en suite rooms and a shared full kitchen. And at the top end of the spectrum, there are two stylish, fully self-contained studio rooms (the Stables) to spoil yourselves with. Per person prices range from $26 to $58 per night, and there is some complimentary wifi at fibre-optics speed. Located a short distance uphill from the city centre, Hogwartz is a hostel for grown-ups: it is not suitable for party crowds or for small children (minimum age 12years). Free car parking is available on surrounding streets, and the walk into the Octagon takes roughly 5min. There are no gimmicks, no false promises here, just genuine quality accommodation and service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hogwartz Backpacker Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing