We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming & excellent value for money”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunedin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hogwartz Backpacker Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2013

What a lovely place!

We stayed in the downstairs double room in the coach house, which is to the back of the hostel. You still get all the access to the hostel if needed.

This is a newly renovated and gorgeous country cottage. The cottage has two double rooms, but you are able to book just one room. Upstairs is a new kitchen and small dining area. There is a bedroom and bathroom. We had the downstairs area to ourselves, with a fabulous bathroom, excellent shower and our own front door and car space. Even though this cottage is shared, you have your privacy as each bedroom is only accessible with a key, so you cannot access the other bedroom. The only area that is shared is the kitchen.

The hostel itself has a wonderful feel. There are loads of DVDs to watch that you can borrow and take back to your room. There are many board games and books to borrow and a cute little loft to read or play games in. The dining room is lovely, as is the kitchen.

We really recommend this hostel for so many reasons! And to top it off, it's close to the Octagon (city centre) and Speight's brewery. Plus free wifi, however we had to go into the hostel to use the wifi as you couldn't access it from our cottage. The only negative was that the downstairs room's tv did not pick up any tv stations, so we could only watch DVDs. The upstairs room's tv was fine though.

Great place!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natnblair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 232 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Lovely hostel! Really friendly staff. Nice and clean. Nice kitchen. We stayed in a 4 bed room, nice view, no bunk beds, high to the ceiling. So impressive building! Lots of time spent on the terass in the sun! Really made our stay in Dunedin!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tryffel-tott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

We didn't stay inside the hostel but in a separate building they refer too as the stables. This was a double room with a kitchen and a great(!) shower. It has a lot of charm as it is a renovated building and they kept the details. At a date of a 100$ per night you get a luxurious, clean and charming room right in the middle of the town. That's cheaper than most motel rooms and a lot better!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crasten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed in a double room by myself in late September. Everything they provided was of the lowest quality: 1 ply toilet paper that will get pierced through easily by gentle motions, heater that is not strong at all to warm you even under 10C and will wake you two to three times a night, hot water that will turn cold while you are still shampooing your hair...

What's more is a middle-aged women keeping an eye on your usage of water when you're cooking in the kitchen, telling you to conserve water by reusing dirty soapy water left in the sink to clean the dishes while NZ is never lack of water and while you pay for everything trying to enjoy your vacation.

Location wise, it is 10 min uphill from the Octagon on foot. You'll probably need a taxi from the city centre to get there if you don't have your own vehicle with luggage. So taking the taxi fares into account, staying in a hotel/motel will definitely be a better deal.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maliboo294217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I stayed at Hogwarts for 2 nights. the accommodation was very clean and spacious. the rooms are not small and cramped like most backpackers are and there are no bunk beds either :) the place was kept real clean and the staff were extremely friendly.will stay there again when I go back to Dunedin at some point. well worth the money, very happy with the overall experience :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Don't know why it's taken me so long to review this place, we stopped here in Nov 09 whilst touring round NZ.

We booked the double room here with ensuite and loved it. The owners were really friendly and helpful and the facilities were brilliant in the kitchen and loved the little mezzanine level which was great just to have some quiet time and read a book.

The place was clean and well situated in the centre of Dunedin to allow you to go and explore the peninsula and the worlds steepest street.

Highly recommend it :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noodle4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed at Hogwartz for three nights during our visit to Dunedin. We were pleasantly surprised by the modern and very clean facilities in hagrid's cottage (the coach house). The kitchen was very nice and well equipped with new dishes, pots and pans. The fridge and oven were clean. We prepared some deluxe meals while we were there! Would highly recommend to adult travelers - particularly if you are lucky enough to have quiet (or no) neighbors in the other cottage unit (as we were). We appreciated the variety of DVD's available to borrow in the main house and we watched a few from the comfort of our room. We enjoyed it so much that we stayed an extra night and did day trips all over Otago and the coast with Hogwartz as our base. The city center is about a 10 minute walk (uphill on the way back) but a bit of exercise did us good. Tip: you can access free Internet in the city's Octagon or at the library (or in the cafe across from the library).

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Marthapel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 mi away
On Top Backpackers
On Top Backpackers
#5 of 47 in Dunedin
165 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#8 of 61 in Dunedin
473 reviews
7.8 mi away
Portobello Motel Cottages
Portobello Motel Cottages
#1 of 2 in Portobello
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chalet Backpackers
Chalet Backpackers
#10 of 47 in Dunedin
41 reviews
1 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 61 in Dunedin
319 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manor House Backpackers
Manor House Backpackers
#8 of 47 in Dunedin
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hogwartz Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hogwartz Backpacker Hostel

Address: 277 Rattray Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Dunedin
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hogwartz is a Backpacker Hostel with a wide spectrum of room types. Budget travellers enjoy their shared rooms with up to six beds (no bunks) or the private rooms with shared facilities. For those who prefer a little bit more privacy and luxury, they have a beautifully rebuilt, self-contained cottage (the Coach House) available with two en suite rooms and a shared full kitchen. And at the top end of the spectrum, there are two stylish, fully self-contained studio rooms (the Stables) to spoil yourselves with. Per person prices range from $26 to $58 per night, and there is some complimentary wifi at fibre-optics speed. Located a short distance uphill from the city centre, Hogwartz is a hostel for grown-ups: it is not suitable for party crowds or for small children (minimum age 12years). Free car parking is available on surrounding streets, and the walk into the Octagon takes roughly 5min. There are no gimmicks, no false promises here, just genuine quality accommodation and service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hogwartz Backpacker Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing