We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, excellent hosts”
Review of Owens Motel

Owens Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Owens Motel
Ranked #54 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Enjoyed our stay at Owen's Motel, very friendly and helpful hosts, lovely large room with nice decor and good facilities. Good views and sun from our unit and great walking distance into Dunedin. Boutique style Motel which makes you want to stay longer!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are lovely and spacious, get good sunshine and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 44 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2012

Pleasantly surprised at the spaciousness of the unit. So clean and tidy and lovely furnishings.
Owners were very helpful. Location is great, so close to university and shopping! We are going to be coming to Dunedin quite frequently this year so are happy to have found somewhere that is good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 05MaryE05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

This is my go to motel when I'm back in my old university town catchin up with friends. You'll never get ripped off at this gaff, which is among the cheapest motels I book all year.

Located on Dunedin's main street, George St, the location is handy enough to town to be able to enjoy a 15-20 minute stroll to plenty of bars, restaurants and shops. Because it is up the north end of town you'll be away from the hustle and bustle of downtown, but beware of the north-end dwelling students who know how to make a racket too!

Room Tip: I like the upstairs units that back on to Regent St
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmycomms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

Really enjoyed our stay at Owen's. Apartment was huge. Kitchen was basic but adequate. Beautiful views and so close to the city and university. A little noisy as on main street but got used to it after 1 night. Owners very helpful

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5kidsBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

Good location on George Street which is the main road. 10 minute walk to restaurants and shops. Free parking. Slow wireless internet like most places in NZ. Free laundry, dryer inadequate.
Noisy partying on weekends as it is near students housing.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nacnud88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2009

When we arrived in Dunedin everywhere was full - it took us an hour before we spotted that this one had vacancies. We thought it is bound to be rubbish. We were totally wrong. For $115 NZ we had a huge apartment. A very large modern furnished living room, a well equipped kitchen, and a rather cold bedroom in which we had to wear heavy clothes at night. We did have a heater on the first night in the bedroom but it was taken away - perhaps we should have complained but we didn't. We had free internet and phonecalls; and there was a good laundry. We stayed 4 nights - the owners were very friendly. The motel was on the main road - but it was a little far to walk to dinner. It is just a shame that Dunedin was so awfully wet!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fabian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 mi away
Cable Court Motel
Cable Court Motel
#32 of 61 in Dunedin
94 reviews
1.4 mi away
Motel on Carroll
Motel on Carroll
#53 of 61 in Dunedin
69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cumberland Motel
Cumberland Motel
#57 of 61 in Dunedin
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
#25 of 61 in Dunedin
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
George Street Motel Apartments
1.6 mi away
Manor Motel
Manor Motel
#44 of 61 in Dunedin
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Owens Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owens Motel

Address: 745 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range: $81 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Owens Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Owens Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing