We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay when we were in Dunedin” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manor Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Manor Motel
Ranked #39 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Canberra
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay when we were in Dunedin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Only complaint was the bathroom was a little too retro but, it was perfectly functional and clean. Otherwise very comfortable room. Sandi was a great host. Service was above and beyond. Highly recommended as a place to stay in Dunedin.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    29
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
41
38
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Girvan, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

All the reviews are true, Sandi is a fantastic host! Mum, Gran and I stayed at the Manor Motel for two nights and were not disappointed. The unit was absolutely immaculate, and kitted out with everything we needed. Sandi could not have been more helpful, with tips on where to visit and eat, put the heating on for us before we came back after a day in the cold wind, and even gave us a lift to the railway station to save us the pricey parking fees!!! Chocolate cake for all on arrival too....what a genuinely lovely lady! :o)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank limara01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Thankyou Sandi. We enjoyed a great stay at Manor Motel last week.
From the first phone call to arrange accommodation for 8 of us, Sandi was helpful, cheerful and welcoming. Mainly her attitude (plus the good rates) was the reason I chose this accommodation over others that I phoned.
I had got my date to arrive mixed up and arrived a day early but this was not a problem for Sandi. Her biggest concern was she didn't have our welcoming cake baked!! She delivered it next day and it was delicious. A lovely personal touch.
The clean, cosy, comfortable rooms, with woollen/feather blankets on the beds, met all our expectations. (No hot sweaty sleeping under synthetic duvets!!!). We went out leaving washing on the line and were assured she would get it in if the rain came. It didn't but she still had it off the line for us.
Convenience to the city was great and parking was made easier at the motel, for our people with limited mobility, when Sandi offered to move her car from her personal parking space. A empathetic observation of her customers needs much appreciated.
We will definitely stay again and recommend Manor motel to others, without a doubt.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vallar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago Atitlan, Guatemala
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

After a long drive from the west coast with nothing to eat it was literally like Sandi had answered our prayers as she deposited four huge hunks of chocolate fudge cake before us. Motels can be souless and anonymous but not this one. You get the welcome and personal touch of a B and B but no having to get up at a certain time for breakfast. The treats didn't stop there either - a huge stash of gossip magazines awaited me in the lounge - sheer (slightly guilty) bliss and just what you need on a rainy day in Otago!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinchoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Having had to travel to Dunedin on a family matter at short notice, I had little time to book a motel, a friend of mine had suggested I try Manor Motel. I rang and was told a room was available for the 2 nights I required. On arrival I was greeted by the owner of the establishment Sandi, who presented me with some freshly baked muffins to tide me over. What a lovely touch. I stayed in a one bedroom unit, which i found to be extremely clean, tidy and comfortable. Had the best sleeps as the property although close to the CBD is extremely quiet. I would definitely stay at this establisment again as not only was it more than adequate and comfortable but was also affordable. Thank you Sandi for your hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thelma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

At the end of September i needed to have an operation & needed some where to stay before & after surgery for myself & elderly husband..We decided to stay at the Manor Motels & was pleasantly surprized with the homelessness of the establishment. The owner was most courteous and went beyond the call of duty to help us in every way she could. Since our stay we have reccommended this motel to all of our friends who wanted accommodation in Dunedin.
We believe this is Dunedins best kept secret.

Room Tip: We had the Studio Unit which for two elderly people was superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarneyKerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Arrived at Manor Motel for a swim meet and was greeted with chocolate cake and smiles from Sandi, the owner. Nothing was a problem, not even the extra person we had with us. She even loaned us her son's DVD player so the kids could relax between swim sessions. Clean and spacious rooms, comfortable beds and warm on a cold Dunedin night. Very quiet and safe location and an easy walk to the main shopping area. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluecat174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.7 mi away
The Law Courts Hotel
The Law Courts Hotel
#46 of 58 in Dunedin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel on Carroll
Motel on Carroll
#50 of 58 in Dunedin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN 555 On Bayview
0.3 mi away
Wains Hotel Dunedin
Wains Hotel Dunedin
#43 of 58 in Dunedin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Motel

Property: Manor Motel
Address: 22 Manor Place, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One km from the centre of Dunedin, Manor Motel is located just off the main road providing a great range of quiet fully equipped apartment style units with full cooking facilities and bathrooms. The units sleep 2 to 6 people in comfort, the operators provide a warm welcome and have local knowledge to assist you making the most of your time in Dunedin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Manor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing