We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as the reviews”
Review of Manor Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Manor Motel
Ranked #42 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This motel is not your standard motel, it is an old building with six (i think) units just on the outskirts of the CBD. It wasn't really very welcoming when we arrived but we found the rooms really well equipped, spacious and comfortable. We had a separate bedroom, kitchen and a lounge area and the inside was fantastic, it just didn't feel like it matched the outside so don't be put off when you arrive.

We found the owner quite eccentric and she was helpful in advising us what we could do in the rain. We were a bit put off when she came knocking at 10:03 asking us why we hadn't checked out as checkout was 10am. We understand this, but thought the grace period for checking out too strict given we were just finishing off and about to leave anyway.

We didn't walk to town, it was apparently ten minutes walk but we spent most of our time down the George St end of town so it would have been a bit far., especially with shopping bags. I would say stay down that end if you are looking for walking distance.

Overall I probably wouldn't stay here again, not sure why I just didn't find it enjoyable like I did with all the other motels we stayed at in NZ.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sall13h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
There are newer reviews for Manor Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 85 of 120 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2012

I accidentally book the motel in August instead of March, the date which i suppose to stay in. I get to know when im there. The lady boss is extremely humorous and friendly. Luckily theres vacant room for us, we managed to change without any charges.

The location is well located, at the central of Dunedin. The rooms are clean and oh the lady boss offered us free muffins! Thank you!

Will recommend the motel to everyone. Is value for money. Paid NZ$165 for 2 room apartment!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahbui83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We found this motel excellent. It was well appointed with full cooking facilities and a good amount of room. It was very handy to town - we found it was a pleasant walk to Dunedin's cafes and restaurants. The off street parking was just the icing on top of the cake :-D Rosey and John

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

This was a great place to stay. Very clean and tidy, good to be able to park the car off the road, and the room was very cute. The owner Sandy was really friendly and helpful, even though we arrived quite late at night from the airport due to a delay in picking up the rental car and some heavy rain.

I would definitely stay here again :o) Well worth it, and the home made muffins were lovely!

Room Tip: we liked our ground floor room.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinzaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

This was a pleasant surprise. It was like a home away from home. It is very clean. Well equiped. Tastefully furnished. In a good location.
Sandi the owner is fabulous and makes the most delicious chocolate cake that was waiting in our unit when we arrived at midnight.
My husband and his mate tied one on the first night and Sandi kindly offered to drive them to the supermarket the next morning when they were going to walk there.
She made our stay so welcome and enjoyable. Thank you so much Sandi.
If you are staying in Dunedin this is THE place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheriiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

This accommodation was run by an awesome lady who made us so very welcome. The room was immaculate and she had made us muffins on our arrival. Sadly there is no where to sit outside. The backpackers next door were horribly noisy at 1am waking us all up. A good place if you need to crash.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

The rooms were modern enough. No freezer, though the kitchen was otherwise well appointed. Laundry was expensive and locked away ($4/load, cf $2 or free elsewhere we stayed). They also have a basketball hoop located in the middle of the small parking area - I had to go out to tell the neighbour's kid to stop throwing a ball at my car.
It's near enough to the city centre, though if you have small kids or elderly travellers you'll still have to drive. All up the price was good.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.8 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.5 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
#55 of 61 in Dunedin
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Law Courts Hotel
The Law Courts Hotel
#48 of 61 in Dunedin
109 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#8 of 61 in Dunedin
440 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dunedin Palms Motel
Dunedin Palms Motel
#12 of 61 in Dunedin
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Motel

Address: 22 Manor Place, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range: $67 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One km from the centre of Dunedin, Manor Motel is located just off the main road providing a great range of quiet fully equipped apartment style units with full cooking facilities and bathrooms. The units sleep 2 to 6 people in comfort, the operators provide a warm welcome and have local knowledge to assist you making the most of your time in Dunedin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Manor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing