We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy and comfortable.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Commodore Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Commodore Motel
Ranked #36 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
194 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Cosy and comfortable.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We spent 2 nights in a 2 bedroom motel unit with separate kitchen.
The unit was clean and cosy and in a great location near the Botanic gardens. Easily walkable to Dunedin hospital and CBD.
Staff were obliging, very friendly and helpful. A lovely touch was coloring in materials left in the room for the kids.
The beds were comfortable, towels fluffy and plenty of extra blankets, pillows etc in rooms.
The kitchen had a basic stock of tea, coffee and milk with enough ground coffee to make one plunger of coffee( after this you had to pay for more coffee)
Free WiFi was a reasonable speed and reliable. Ample on site parking available. DVD's available free of charge at reception.
A service station and Subway takeaway located next door.
I found our room, at the back of the property, a bit noisy at night from trucks coming into Dunedin but no one else noticed the noise.
Buildings a little on the old side but nicely decorated and we had a comfortable stay. We would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CandN07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    32
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
44
19
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

We chose The Commodore Motel in Dunedin because of the reviews and the location. We weren't disappointed because we did expect small bathroom (not a big deal to us) and the rooms needing an update but the separate living room made up for these small issues. That WAS a small bathroom sink! The front desk staff were friendly and informative. We motel is a short distance to the Dunedin Botanical Gardens - amazing! There's a New World grocery store nearby and a Countdown further down the street. We drove to the Otago peninsula and enjoyed a walk along a sea lion littered Sandfly Beach - awesome spot. We could have used an extra day or two in Dunedin but we had to head north to Sumner near Christchurch the next day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomike49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Disappointing for amount paid. Bathroom facilities completely outdated and sink was so small I could not use it to shave in. Not a room I wanted to spend much time in as dark and rather dingy. Rooms needs a complete makeover to bring them into the 21st Century

Room Tip: Upgrade or better go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Anau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Had an amazing stay which included a free upgrade and complimentary beers. One of the most genuinely friendly places we have stayed. Great central location easy walk to Central Dunedin and the octagon. Nice a d close to the botanic gardens. Thanks!!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fionaandfiach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Great little hotel with friendly staff that were filling to provide information for the duration of our stay. The hotel was clean with good facilities in a good location. The rates were about average for Dunedin.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Had 2 rooms for our family at the end of September and both very roomy,clean,and most important great bed and shower. The day was wet and it was nice to come into a warm unit at the end of a busy day. Great stay thanks Rick and the team my birthday was very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandipaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I arrived into Dunedin without pre-booked accommodation and pulled into Commodore Motel and was impressed from my first interaction with the host. The host made me feel like he was grateful for my patronage (this is all too often overlooked by many proprietors) and provided exceptional service thereafter - including a 'gift' to welcome me to his motel.
I stay away from home 3-4 nights a week for business and have seldom come across the quality service encountered on this one-night stay. For the record I have never posted a review before but I feel compelled to recognise the great service I received by this accommodation provider.
The room was spacious, warm (it needed to be due to the cold temperatures outside) and most importantly clean. More importantly they supplied free WIFI and this is something that should be provided by ALL accommodation providers in my opinion - especially if they want to attract the business traveler.
Well done Commodore!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.2 mi away
Motel on York
Motel on York
#22 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cable Court Motel
Cable Court Motel
#31 of 58 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
#26 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.5 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 58 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dunedin Palms Motel
Dunedin Palms Motel
#10 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Motel

Property: Commodore Motel
Address: 932 Cumberland Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Commodore Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Commodore is a 4 Star Qualmark quality assured Rated Motel which offers clean, comfortable, and modern accommodation. We have a great team of staff who are passionate about Dunedin and what it has to offer. Our selection of rooms is from the standard studio for 1 or 2 people, right through to large family room fully equipped sleeping up to 8. We are located on State Highway 1 at the north end of the city, just next door to Dunedin's famous Botanic Gardens. This is a fantastic place to let the kids blow off some steam. Affiliated with Dunedin's top golf courses with great advice to offer. Dunedin Hospital is a short walk, Otago University is 2-3 min. walk away, the ForsythBarr Stadium is a 20min stroll, and the Octagon is a 20min stroll. we offer the full package for your time in Dunedin. Come and stay and let the team at Commodore show you true hospitality Southern Style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Commodore Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing