We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Commodore Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Commodore Motel
Ranked #38 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

we travel to dunedin quite often for kids sport and family this was our first time at the commodore and wont be our last we are a large family the room was big,clean the lady at the front desk was very helpful they let me park my trailer there even though I had checked this will be our local when we return

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWilds05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    32
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
44
19
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed for a night and all though on the main one way road into Dunedin we were surprised at how quiet our unit was. room was great, warm and we had a spa bath which was a very large corner spa.Extremly clean and very helpful friendly staff. Thanks for the tip on where to have breakfast. The café at McAndrew bay was excellent as we were going out that way. Value for money we will be staying here again and would recommend this motel.

Room Tip: A spa bath room for couples is a good choice!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We recently stayed two nights at the Commodore in a two bedroom unit. The unit was spacious, clean, and positioned well back from the road, so very quiet. It was within walking distance of both the Botanic Gardens and Otago Museum. Great selection of DVD's for the whole family too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VdB187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

It was my first time staying at Commodore Motel, Dunedin. I've been DUN a couple times and staying at different motels. This time we have a group of 11 and surprisingly Commodore has enough rooms for us and the price is just right. The rooms and facilities are great, places are clean and comfortable. Staffs are very nice and always smiling. Although it located at almost the end of Cumberland Street but still convenient and not difficult to get to town center. I will stay at Commodore next time I visit DUN.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkiwi1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We were recommended The Commodore Motel and it was great. Clean, friendly staff and good location plus good value. No issues with our room and would stay again! There was 6 of us staying, the kids usually have something to complain about! not this time even though it was an overnight stay on our way through :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T_CMac09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

I go to this city once a month regularly.
I always look for good place to stay.
there are not so many place to stay four people.
But, I found this friendly motel finally.
Cheap but comfortable, Clean.
All of staffs are very good.
they never forget their smile.

Room Tip: Two bedrooms are enough for 4-5 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Friends hubby needed urgent surgery @ Ddn hospital. All staff extremely helpful & obliging given we didn't know for sure how long we would need the motel room.
Every day staff & managers asked how he was progressing showing genuine concern.
Motel within an easy 5 min from hospital & town centre. Rooms comfortable & clean.
We cancelled the last days stay on the morning of departure as we only just heard at 8am that morning friends hubby was being discharged . No charge for room that day, brilliant considering friend had enough stress to cope with without an extra days motel to pay for.
Highly recommend this motel
Dawn P

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.0 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
#25 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dunedin Palms Motel
Dunedin Palms Motel
#10 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aria on Bank
Aria on Bank
#6 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Dunedin
Bella Vista Dunedin
#36 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.5 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Motel

Property: Commodore Motel
Address: 932 Cumberland Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Commodore Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Commodore is a 4 Star Qualmark quality assured Rated Motel which offers clean, comfortable, and modern accommodation. We have a great team of staff who are passionate about Dunedin and what it has to offer. Our selection of rooms is from the standard studio for 1 or 2 people, right through to large family room fully equipped sleeping up to 8. We are located on State Highway 1 at the north end of the city, just next door to Dunedin's famous Botanic Gardens. This is a fantastic place to let the kids blow off some steam. Affiliated with Dunedin's top golf courses with great advice to offer. Dunedin Hospital is a short walk, Otago University is 2-3 min. walk away, the ForsythBarr Stadium is a 20min stroll, and the Octagon is a 20min stroll. we offer the full package for your time in Dunedin. Come and stay and let the team at Commodore show you true hospitality Southern Style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Commodore Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing