We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need at good price”
Review of Commodore Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Commodore Motel
Ranked #43 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Everything you need at good price”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

It was my first time staying at Commodore Motel, Dunedin. I've been DUN a couple times and staying at different motels. This time we have a group of 11 and surprisingly Commodore has enough rooms for us and the price is just right. The rooms and facilities are great, places are clean and comfortable. Staffs are very nice and always smiling. Although it located at almost the end of Cumberland Street but still convenient and not difficult to get to town center. I will stay at Commodore next time I visit DUN.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkiwi1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    32
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
45
19
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We were recommended The Commodore Motel and it was great. Clean, friendly staff and good location plus good value. No issues with our room and would stay again! There was 6 of us staying, the kids usually have something to complain about! not this time even though it was an overnight stay on our way through :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T_CMac09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I go to this city once a month regularly.
I always look for good place to stay.
there are not so many place to stay four people.
But, I found this friendly motel finally.
Cheap but comfortable, Clean.
All of staffs are very good.
they never forget their smile.

Room Tip: Two bedrooms are enough for 4-5 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Friends hubby needed urgent surgery @ Ddn hospital. All staff extremely helpful & obliging given we didn't know for sure how long we would need the motel room.
Every day staff & managers asked how he was progressing showing genuine concern.
Motel within an easy 5 min from hospital & town centre. Rooms comfortable & clean.
We cancelled the last days stay on the morning of departure as we only just heard at 8am that morning friends hubby was being discharged . No charge for room that day, brilliant considering friend had enough stress to cope with without an extra days motel to pay for.
Highly recommend this motel
Dawn P

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Extremely accommodating & helpful to a late adjustment to my booking. Great room for the price... superb value for money. Everything was neat, clean & tidy when I arrived. Great surprise to find I have a spa bath too!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neale321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Me and my brother came to Dunedin for the cricket being my brother is disabled we needed a disabled friendly motel and we found one rick and his wife and all the staff nothing was to much trouble location ideal would recommend it for short or long stay had a great week in Dunedin made all the better by the whole crew at the comordore thanks for a great stay Gary and andy

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Villa1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Roxburgh, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Great size rooms. Loved the dishmaster. Great friendly staff. Easy walk to Forsyth Barr Stadium. Perfect set up for two adults and two children. Lovely big fridge and great kitchen. Even though room close to street, location of bedrooms meant noise was ok, even during student orientation week.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.0 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 61 in Dunedin
281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge
0.3 mi away
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
#25 of 61 in Dunedin
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Garden Motel
Garden Motel
#30 of 61 in Dunedin
88 reviews
0.5 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 61 in Dunedin
279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Dunedin
Bella Vista Dunedin
#38 of 61 in Dunedin
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Motel

Property: Commodore Motel
Address: 932 Cumberland Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Commodore Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Commodore is a 4 Star Qualmark quality assured Rated Motel which offers clean, comfortable, and modern accommodation. We have a great team of staff who are passionate about Dunedin and what it has to offer. Our selection of rooms is from the standard studio for 1 or 2 people, right through to large family room fully equipped sleeping up to 8. We are located on State Highway 1 at the north end of the city, just next door to Dunedin's famous Botanic Gardens. This is a fantastic place to let the kids blow off some steam. Affiliated with Dunedin's top golf courses with great advice to offer. Dunedin Hospital is a short walk, Otago University is 2-3 min. walk away, the ForsythBarr Stadium is a 20min stroll, and the Octagon is a 20min stroll. we offer the full package for your time in Dunedin. Come and stay and let the team at Commodore show you true hospitality Southern Style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Commodore Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing