We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neil from Christchurch”
Review of Commodore Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Commodore Motel
Ranked #44 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I stay in the Commodore every time I am in Dunedin the people are great I will keep staying here as very helpfull and is a nice place to stay

Room Tip: all rooms are warm and clean near the back of the complex is better as less road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 113 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2012

This motel is pretty good value for money. The check in/out staff are really helpful and make you feel welcome,. Very good bed, shower, towels, spa bath. This could have been a perfect two day getaway, if only they had a decent television! Grainy picture from an old style tele suspended from a wall bracket didn't cut it. And the Highlanders were playing that night! Luckily, Dunedin's fantastic stadium is near this motel so we saw the game live instead. Time to upgrade to a flat screen. Hopefully before we return. And we will return!

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet, double glazing helps keep down noise from a busy road. Corner rooms overlooking bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seekers262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Good place to stay, about 20 mins walk into city, at least it is flat walk! We had studio room, so not that large but very comfortable, great bathroom, mwave, kettle, toaster etc, comfy bed and room was at back which very much reduced street noise. Would recommend stay here.

Room Tip: ask for one at back away from busy street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Great service and hospitality,rooms were good and well equipped will be back when we are down that way again.Handy to shops and attractions.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Can't rate the Commodore motels highly enough! Incredibly family friendly, fantastic hosts, brilliant accommodation, 10/10 recommended to all, perfect location too.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leevonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

This is our home when staying in Dunedin. I have brought my family here also when they have been visiting from Australia. Great facilities. Not far from anything. Ease with parking, even our huge truck.

Room Tip: Geralde and Helen will make sure that you have a room that suits your requirements, Just tell them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miriam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

A wonderful place that we will be recommending to friends and family. Room was spacious and well equipped. First class service with a smile

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cosmith28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 61 in Dunedin
295 reviews
1.6 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
538 Great King Motel
538 Great King Motel
#20 of 61 in Dunedin
61 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
#24 of 61 in Dunedin
74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Dunedin
Bella Vista Dunedin
#39 of 61 in Dunedin
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Motel

Address: 932 Cumberland Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range: $90 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Commodore Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Commodore is a 4 Star Qualmark quality assured Rated Motel which offers clean, comfortable, and modern accommodation. We have a great team of staff who are passionate about Dunedin and what it has to offer. Our selection of rooms is from the standard studio for 1 or 2 people, right through to large family room fully equipped sleeping up to 8. We are located on State Highway 1 at the north end of the city, just next door to Dunedin's famous Botanic Gardens. This is a fantastic place to let the kids blow off some steam. Affiliated with Dunedin's top golf courses with great advice to offer. Dunedin Hospital is a short walk, Otago University is 2-3 min. walk away, the ForsythBarr Stadium is a 20min stroll, and the Octagon is a 20min stroll. we offer the full package for your time in Dunedin. Come and stay and let the team at Commodore show you true hospitality Southern Style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Commodore Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing