We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable B&B with very large rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sahara Guesthouse & Motel
Ranked #57 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Reviewed January 28, 2010

This review is of the guest house. The complex has a motel and deluxe studios which were not viewed. The house is certanly Victorian (as is much of Dunedin), but well maintained in that style, except for en-suite which was quite modern.
Breakfasts were adequate (and at an extra charge only moderate value) and served in a bright dining room. Rooms remarkably quiet for location on a major road. Queen bed comfortable and a good size. Sign on door re ringing bell not quite accurate as during the day the door appears to be unlocked and one needs to press the bell near the internal hatch to get attention. Staff were very unobtrusive but helpful (especially the employed lady). A guest lounge is provided with limitless complimentary tea, coffee etc. and microwave and 'fridge if needed.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GadaboutNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 87 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2009

This accommodation has more than one section, including motel units out the back that I did not see so please be aware that my comments relate to the guesthouse.

Upon arrival I rang the bell in the private section of what appeared to be an 1880 or so Victorian-era two storey former house, now converted into a guesthouse.

The male proprietor appeared with friendly mutt and, separated from me by the Dutch door of the office, handed me the key.

My room was at the front and had a double or queen bed along with a single bed. The room was attractively decorated with a ceiling rose and various friezes. A couple of the floorboards creaked.

Lighting was provided by a solitary lamp in the middle of the room plus 'searchlights' over the bedhead. The room needs a lamp or two to emphasise the period style.

The television appeared to be inoperative. There was a note saying that it was not tuned to Sky Channel.

The bathroom was obviously a fairly recent addition. It had a toilet, a small vanity unit and a plastic based and walled shower with a glass shower screen.

At night, it took two or three minutes for the hot water to arrive. It was better in the morning, thankfully.

The large windows were double-glazed and fairly effective at eliiminating traffic noise.

There was a common room downstairs offering free tea and coffee. It had a slightly musty smell: not attractive.

The dining room seats 18 or so at three tables. The continental breakfast was poor: a few choices of cereal, and toast which I did not have.

This accommodation needs a few finishing touches to turn it into a four star property. The mustiness of the ground floor could be tackled first, as it is a little off-putting.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victorianlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BB988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: ห้องชั้นล่างดีกว่า
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank armomo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: น่ารัก อบอุ่น
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Papatsara_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jethe66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nuage69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.9 mi away
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
#56 of 61 in Dunedin
109 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Law Courts Hotel
The Law Courts Hotel
#48 of 61 in Dunedin
110 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ocean Beach Hotel
#31 of 61 in Dunedin
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.3 mi away
Cable Court Motel
Cable Court Motel
#30 of 61 in Dunedin
93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#8 of 61 in Dunedin
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sahara Guesthouse & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sahara Guesthouse & Motel

Address: 619 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range: $44 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Sahara Guesthouse & Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Sahara Guesthouse & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sahara Guesthouse Hotel Dunedin
The Sahara Guesthouse And Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing