We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Geeky Gecko Backpackers
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Apartments at St Clair(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
$98
$96
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aria on Bank(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
$151
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$316
$306
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pacific Park Suites(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
$114
$105
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
$84
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$222
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Larnach Castle Lodge(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
$206
$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveler rating
28
26
15
16
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
26
15
16
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree wifibig tvcomfortable loungenew zealandspent two nightslocation is greatcentral dunedincomputersgeeksnetflixoctagon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 114 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I do NOT recommend this hostel.

You cannnot lock doors of two of four showers. This is a big problem for girls!
There was loud music all day until midnight!! Sometimes people were creaming!!! I couldn't sleep...even scary...
There was no window in my room, so I couldn't get fresh air and sunlight. Besides, the room was not so clean...I thought it was like a cell. I couldn't stand it and left earlier than I planned...
The only good thing was free Wi-Fi, but you can get it at the library. It's a much better environment.

Dunedin is nice place, but you should choose your accommodation carefully.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank X246L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

booked party of 5 one line into a 6 bed room, was advised that we had to spit which was ok but the American\German(?) (Joe and Dave) combination on front desk made it unpleasant, just young guys with no customer service skills. Their hostile mate did not help either. Spotted large mouse or small rat in the communal area, put me off cooking in the kitchen. Overall very tatty and overcrowded, the plastic on the heaters in rooms had MELTED bit of a fire hazard i would think. Only a matter of time before this place is shut down or burns down.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else?
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RKnzArran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

It was one of the cheapest backpacker hostels I have find in New Zealand and the bathroom was descent, the room was very good and it felt clear, I had a six bed mixed dorm that had the lower beds of the bunk beds FULL size! It gives free WIFI with pretty good velocity. It is in the city center, fun decoration in the hostel walls, good TV in the lounge room. I enjoyed my day at Penny's in Dunedin very much!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodfunlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

The room and bathroom really make me mad, super duper dirty and messy. The kitchen even can't find a clean towel to dry those dishes. Refrigerator is super full & smelly, seems like they never clean it out. Anyway I hope non of my friends stay in this backpackers. So disappointed :(

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harpeifen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I was there for travelling alone,stayed in a single room.

The staffs were nice, room was clean.
And there's a free wifi!!!

It's a bit far from the Octagon. If you got a huge luggage, it would be some trouble.
But there's still the way not to walk up-hill to bus station(Intercity)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bazophil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews