We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Factory Tour”

Cadbury World Tours and Cafe
Book In Advance
More Info
$46.80*
and up
Half-Day Iconic Dunedin City Tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Ignite the senses with a trip to Cadbury World Dunedin! Discover the magic of Cadbury when you join us on the Cadbury World 1 hour experience. Learn about the history of Cadbury and chocolate as you journey through time in our visitors centre. Follow your guide to the Cadbury World Sensory Lab where chocolate comes to life, here you will learn about the chocolate making process, see chocolate being tempered and even get to create a little Marvellous Creation of your own. The tour concludes with a sweet splash as you enjoy our unique Cadbury World chocolate fall. Bookings are essential, so make your booking today. Opened in 2014 our one of a kind cafe provides an exceptional selection of food baked daily on site (savoury and sweet) and boasts an impressive range of Specialty Hot Chocolates - where better to get a hot chocolate from than a chocolate factory! Just a 2 minute walk from the Octagon and Choc-a-block with fun a visit to Cadbury World Tours and Cafe is a must while in Dunedin.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Factory Tour”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

This would be the worst tourist attraction I have ever visited anywhere in the world. All we saw were pathetic videos on small screen TVs. No live action at all. We were treated like children and given 'lolly scrambles' of tiny chocolate bars. We watched a load of chocolate falling from a hopper and then found it wasn't even part of the process but was just done for us to watch. Boring, boring, boring.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    384
    236
    111
    92
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
264 reviews
143 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great chocolate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

I've done chocolate factory tours before and this one was no different. Fairly boring. There was not much happening on the production line so there was not much to see. We did buy some yummy chocolates though

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinMc882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not the best factory tour around”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Our tour started with the guide "barking" a lot of health and safety rules at us and a big fuss about wearing hair nets and removing all jewelry which gave the impression that we would be getting up close to all the chocolate making action, we couldn't have been more wrong! A lot of the tour involves standing behind a marked line watching a video of what happens in the factory rather than actually seeing into the factory itself, the parts of the factory floor that you get to see from behind glass are the packaging lines some of which was interesting to see. The samples handed out are lame at best, some of the worst examples of Cadbury chocolate around. I think these tours simply run to generate money to help keep production in New Zealand. If you have done any of the good factory tours around the world i.e. Guinness in Dublin, Zotter Chocolate in Austria etc. you will be very disappointed with this tour.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Kiwifly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Got the Shortened Tour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Due to Labour Monday holiday My partner and I got the shortened version of the Cadbury Tour. We started with watching a short video about the history of Cadbury while eating a small bag of chocolate that is handed out at the start. The tour then proceeded to such excitement (not) as standing by a wall why the tour guide showed us what goes into the chocolate . $15 each and not worth it. Come on Cadbury get more creative especially for the shortened tours.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Theresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
216 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Fantastic Dunedin icon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

My partner and I enjoyed the shortened version of the Cadbury tour as we visited on a Sunday. The shortened tour is only 45 minutes which is a good amount of time. The tour starts with watching a short video about the history of Cadbury while eating your goody bag of chocolate that is handed out at the start. The tour guide was really friendly and it was great having a wander around some of the factory. I would recommend this tour for both adults and children. Everyone will enjoy themselves.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Olivia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cadbury World Tours and Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Cadbury World Tours and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing