We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tracey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western 555 On Bayview
Ranked #17 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Papamoa, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tracey”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Wonderful Hosts. So helpful. Great price. The rooms are clean and spacious.
The conference facilities are high tech and the food served for conference lunch was superb. Absolutely not looking elsewhere for accommodation when I travel to Dunedin.

Room Tip: My rooms have always been perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 557Tracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    63
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
53
114
26
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This is a well located and accessible motel close to Dunedin's attractions and facilities. The staff are very attentive and the rooms clean and comfortable, particularly the bed. A good spot to stay for a day or two.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
555Bayview, Owner at Best Western 555 On Bayview, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you Frank for your recent review, we also consider we are in a great position here, very close to the centre of Dunedin and also right by the Peninsula access roads.
We hope to see you again on your next trip to Dunedin.
Best wishes Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I stayed at Best Western 555 on Bayview a few weeks ago and had such a great experience! Sue and Richard the owners, were great while helping me plan my visit to Dunedin. The rooms are spacious, modern and quiet just what I was looking for. Also I'm quite tall (1.98m) so it was brilliant to have a super king bed in our room. We also got the $10 breakfast special which not only was great value but was the best breakfast I have had in a long time. I have definitely found a favorite place to stay while visiting Dunedin!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmt82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
555Bayview, Owner at Best Western 555 On Bayview, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased that the Sealy super king bed were just right for you and you had an enjoyable stay with us. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best regards Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2014

The room was very clean but relatively small, especially for the price. The breakfast options were very overpriced so we chose not to have either of them & went to McDonald's instead where the price was much better.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
555Bayview, Manager at Best Western 555 On Bayview, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for your recent review, you booked the room and price on-line, maybe the exchange rate difference between NZ & US dollars could have been confusing.
We are a 4* Motel and included in the tariff is free unlimited Internet for multiple devices,plus all rooms have high quality Sealy super king beds and Philips 42" TVs.
Kind regards Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
te anau
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed in Feb 2014 to have a weekends break away and were greeted by wonderful hosts including the dog and turtle making a great welcome for guest. Our room was great very clean and spotless. Large TV on the wall and free Wifi is always great for guest so yes I would and have recommended it to other people travelling to Dunedin

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adenmotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
555Bayview, Owner at Best Western 555 On Bayview, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Many thanks for your kind review on your recent break away from Te Anau, we are happy that everything was up to the high standard you expect in a 4+ Motel.
We hope to see you again when you are next in Dunedin.
Best wishes Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Convenient location for our brief visit to Dunedin and for accessing Otago Peninsula. Supermarket over road useful for breakfast provisions. Staff very helpful recommending good restaurant and evening trip to see blue penguins and royal albatrosses on Otago. Room had everything necessary and more plus bathroom spacious and modern. Within a busy built up area and consequently no great views.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NandV1F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
555Bayview, Owner at Best Western 555 On Bayview, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thanks for your review, we are pleased you managed to see the Blue Penguins and also the Royal Albatrosses on your recent stay in Dunedin. Another time if you are back in Dunedin a trip to see the Yellow Eyed Penguins at either Penguin Place or Natures Wonders is an absolute must.
We feel we are situated in a excellent location to visit the Otago Peninsula and still be close to city attractions.
Best wishes for all your future travels, Sue & Richard Hanning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2014

It was lovely to arrive to a friendly welcome from Richard, and shown to a clean and very well appointed room. The beds were super comfortable and it was lovely and quiet. The location was great all in all an awesome place to stay ... Thank you will be back soon

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEF67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
555Bayview, Owner at Best Western 555 On Bayview, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for your review, we look forward to your next stay with us in Dunedin.
Best regards, Sue & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
1.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
2.2 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
2.4 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western 555 On Bayview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western 555 On Bayview

Property: Best Western 555 On Bayview
Address: 555 Andersons Bay Road, Dunedin 9012, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dunedin
#5 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#11 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Best Western 555 On Bayview 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern motel, with Super King beds throughout complex 42" Phillips Televisions in all rooms. Sky/Cable TV, Free DVD library, Breakfast available. New ground- floor conference room available.Supermarket across street open from 7.00am till 10pm.Easy,quick access to city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western 555 On Bayview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing