We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good overnight stop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN 555 On Bayview
Ranked #18 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good overnight stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Convenient location for our brief visit to Dunedin and for accessing Otago Peninsula. Supermarket over road useful for breakfast provisions. Staff very helpful recommending good restaurant and evening trip to see blue penguins and royal albatrosses on Otago. Room had everything necessary and more plus bathroom spacious and modern. Within a busy built up area and consequently no great views.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NandV1F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
555Bayview, Owner at BEST WESTERN 555 On Bayview, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thanks for your review, we are pleased you managed to see the Blue Penguins and also the Royal Albatrosses on your recent stay in Dunedin. Another time if you are back in Dunedin a trip to see the Yellow Eyed Penguins at either Penguin Place or Natures Wonders is an absolute must.
We feel we are situated in a excellent location to visit the Otago Peninsula and still be close to city attractions.
Best wishes for all your future travels, Sue & Richard Hanning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    62
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
53
114
26
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

It was lovely to arrive to a friendly welcome from Richard, and shown to a clean and very well appointed room. The beds were super comfortable and it was lovely and quiet. The location was great all in all an awesome place to stay ... Thank you will be back soon

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEF67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
555Bayview, Owner at BEST WESTERN 555 On Bayview, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for your review, we look forward to your next stay with us in Dunedin.
Best regards, Sue & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Although located on a busy road, the accommodation is set well back and we managed to have an uninterrupted night's sleep. The rooms are large and very comfortable. The bathrooms, in particular, were the best we had come across in our two week trip around the South Island, cleaner and larger than those in much higher priced establishments. The staff were friendly and very keen to help. I would recommend 555 to anyone looking for reasonably priced good quality accommodation in Dunedin.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floydeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
555Bayview, Owner at BEST WESTERN 555 On Bayview, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Many thanks for your kind review.
It is important that our guests have a good restful sleep when they stay with us so our big Sealy beds fit the bill perfectly, also the fact all units have double glazed hush glass helps as well.
Our staff will appreciate your comments on the cleanliness and also their friendliness during your stay, we endevour to ensure all our guests have a comfortable and welcoming stay.
Again thank you and we hope to see you another time in Dunedin. Regards Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt City, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
184 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

A great place to stay; the staff are friendly and very helpful - nothing a problem; they were warm and welcoming; unit was neat and tidy; bed was comfortable; breakfast was just right - each day; and always delivered when we asked. Location is excellent; handy to everything;supermarket right across the road; and handy to eating places. We would definitely recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
555Bayview, Owner at BEST WESTERN 555 On Bayview, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hello Wayne, thanks for your great review, we look forward to your next stay.
Please ring us direct on our freephone 0800555779 to talk to us personally when you are next planning a visit.
Best wishes Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights on our journey across the South Island. Room was very spacious and clean. The complex was very quiet and the owners quite helpful with directions etc.a Grocery store and restaurants were within walking distance. Would highly recommend a stay here.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lizron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
555Bayview, Owner at BEST WESTERN 555 On Bayview, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hello Lizron, thanks for your kind recommendation of our Motel, we are pleased you enjoyed your time here in Dunedin.
We wish you well in your future travels.
Best regards Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Service with a smile. Friendly and helpful staff. Room spacious and very clean, Kitchen good (could use ice trays). Close to supermarkets and fast food outlets. Road is Bayview, no Bayview at all. would stay again if back in NZ

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 215happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
555Bayview, Owner at BEST WESTERN 555 On Bayview, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us in Dunedin, we would love to welcome you back on your next visit.
Kind regards Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
285 reviews
224 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Bayview? The street is called Bayview - but there's no view of a bay! There's a BP filling station across the street, a CountDown supermarket in a different direction, a flower shop nearby, all quite convenient but the environment is more commercial/trade estate than bayview.
The motel sits on a corner, the folks in reception are really friendly and helpful, the rooms are spacious and comfortable. It is also on the route from the City Centre to the Otago peninsular which has a very scenic drive around it which leads to the Royal Albatross Centre where you can see Albatross on the nest and flying around. Spectacular.
So, it's a pretty good motel, at a reasonable price, but not exciting.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedHeadPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
555Bayview, Owner at BEST WESTERN 555 On Bayview, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hello Peter, thanks for your review.
Regarding the name Best Western 555 on Bayview, we are situated on the corner of Bayview and Andersons Bay Rds,and all the land around us has been reclaimed, starting mainly in the 1940s and finishing in the late 1970s.
Anderson Bay Rd then followed the site of the original shoreline, so there was a 'bay- view' once. I hope that helps to understand where the name comes from.
Dunedin is an amazing small city with so much available for a tourist to see and do, and I'm pleased you enjoyed your time here.
Kind regards Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
1.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
2.2 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
2.4 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN 555 On Bayview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN 555 On Bayview

Property: BEST WESTERN 555 On Bayview
Address: 555 Andersons Bay Road, Dunedin 9012, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#11 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BEST WESTERN 555 On Bayview 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern motel, with Super King beds throughout complex 42" Phillips Televisions in all rooms. Sky/Cable TV, Free DVD library, Breakfast available. New ground- floor conference room available.Supermarket across street open from 7.00am till 10pm.Easy,quick access to city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN 555 On Bayview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing