We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Dunedin
Ranked #17 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bowen
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely stay”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Lovely stay for 2 nights. Good for getting around and sightseeing. Close to city and Otago Peninsula. We were given a upgrade with king sized bed and spa. Very helpful when we had a bit of car trouble. They helped find somewhere to get a tyre fixed on a Sunday. When mentioned no vegemite on breakfast tray they found some for the next day.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jansting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
555Bayview, Owner at Best Western Dunedin, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
All our units have Sealy Super King beds in them so you will always be assured of a comfortable and relaxing rest.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    64
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
53
115
26
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

A standard motel - nothing overly special apart from its a place to sleep. Room was warm and clean, reception fella friendly as needed. Had no ice trays, heater was good, pretty quiet unit, close to supermarkets and maccas, kfc etc

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron4611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
555Bayview, Owner at Best Western Dunedin, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hello Cameron, thanks for your review, I'm pleased Jason looked after you when you checked in and you found everything in order. All our fridges have ice trays in them so I'm sorry I can't understand why yours didn't, my apolgies if that was the case.
Best regards Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Had no where to stay and stumbled across this motel. The young guy on reception was really helpful and accommodating. We ended up staying two nights. Very clean, comfortable rooms throughout the unit with a little kitchenette stocked with a good supply of tea, coffee, hot chocolate. Supermarket across the road didn't close until late which was handy. Bus stop right outside for transport into city so we didn't have to drive. Quiet location & handy to the Peninsula and St Clair. Only one negative which is I think the driveway entrance to the property off the street could be wider. As I recall I don't think two cars could pass each other. That said I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
555Bayview, Owner at Best Western Dunedin, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for your recent review, Im pleased we could help you with a room for your 2 night stay and everything was of a high standard. Kind regards Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gore, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Best Motel to stay in Dunedin, the rooms are very clean and furnished to a high standard, having large flat screen TV's, very good shower and a large king sized bed.
The owners are very helpful and willing to assist with any questions, the free Wifi was much appreciated.
I will be staying here during my next visit to Dunedin.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
555Bayview, Owner at Best Western Dunedin, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, we look forward to welcoming you again to stay with us when you are next in Dunedin.
Regards Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I stayed at Best Western 555 on Bayview recently and had a wonderful stay. The rooms are very clean and modern with a kitchenette which is always a bonus for breakfast. The owners couldn't be more helpful and friendly and really made my stay. Dined at st clair which was easy to get to as is town. Will definitley stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
555Bayview, Owner at Best Western Dunedin, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Many thanks for your kind review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are very lucky to have such a lot of good restaurant/cafes close by, especially at St Clair beach, you do not need to go into the City for a great quality meal.
We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Dunedin.
Kind regards Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2014

My husband and myself stayed in the Best Western 555 on Bayview for 5 nights and were absolutely delighted with the comfort and cleanliness of the motel. We were made to feel very welcome. So close to the city but so quiet. We have just made another booking to return later in the year. Can totally recommend this Motel. Even the coffee was the ''Best".

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosiecat73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
555Bayview, Owner at Best Western Dunedin, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for your review, it was good to have you stay for a longer time and great that you telephoned us and booked direct, we can always offer a better price for a longer stay period if you talk to us personally.
We look forward to your up-coming visit again
Best wishes Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights on the last leg of our 17 day South Island trip. Being away from the city centre, I wasn't quite sure what to expect but was pleasantly surprised by its location. There is a Countdown (like our Woolies) right across the road and a few fast food places within close walking distance. There was a cold-snap when we were visiting so we didn't walk to the beach, but that is fairly close (I think about 20-25 minutes walk). The city centre is a close drive.

The Best Western 555 represented great value for money as we were able to self-cater a bit and have a good nights' rest in a spacious, clean and comfortable room. Sue was lovely and was happy to help if required. Best of all - free wifi!

Overall, we would definitely stay here again if coming to Dunedin.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim-Andrew04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
2.3 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
728 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
1.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
626 reviews
1.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 61 in Dunedin
758 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dunedin

Property: Best Western Dunedin
Address: 555 Andersons Bay Road, Dunedin 9012, New Zealand (Formerly Best Western 555 On Bayview)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Dunedin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Dunedin motel located at Anderson’s Bay, the gateway to the Otago Peninsula, and closest accommodation to The Edgar Centre and Dunedin’s major attractions. Best Western 555 on Bayview offers quality accommodation in Dunedin. The motel is only a three minute drive from the Octagon, the heart of Dunedin with its art galleries, restaurants, bars, shops and convention centre. The beaches of the Otago Peninsula are almost on your doorstep, a 5 minute drive to Forsyth Barr Stadium and the Otago University Campus is a short drive away. Best Western 555 on Bayview is a quiet hotel with 26 comfortable executive guest rooms each featuring a super king bed, cable Sky digital TV and free wifi. This Dunedin motel also offers a guest laundry and BBQ. There are restaurants within a 5 minute walk away and several provide charge back facilities located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing