We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Central Backpackers Dunedin
Ranked #13 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Dunedin
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Good location. Nice rooms, very clean as were the bathrooms. Id say they could do with more bathrooms but its a pretty small place and I cant imagine guests ever have to wait too long to use them. Nice friendly staff too
Good location, short walk to octagon and other local sights.
Id stay again and id recommend

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gr87_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
There are newer reviews for Central Backpackers Dunedin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 47 of 86 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014

Good location, convenient to town, reasonable price, clean room and friendly staff. Stayed in a private room (#1) on Saturday night but it was hard sleep because of the street noise outside. The lounge smelled of beer. A bit dark and grim to be honest.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs if staying over the weekend.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AaronWonju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Modern and friendly. We stayed here for three nights and had a reasonable stay. The kitchen was quite big although lacking an oven and had an adjoining dining room. The only real issue was that to get to the kitchen or to the main door you had to walk in front of the TV audience. The room we stayed in hosted 10 people but had enough personal space not to feel crowded. The hostel is located 30 seconds from the front door to the library across the road and as far to the town centre. While staying in Dunedin the Cadbury Factory is a must see. Overall quite enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We were greeted by a very friendly young female staff member and I commend her for her positive attitude in such a dark and depressing environment.

I found that the bathroom was dirty with paint peeling from the ceiling and mould on the ceiling in the toilet. The floor was also wet.

In our room the window frames were rusty and several of the windows were cracked. There were two holes in the wall behind the door

The common areas are very claustrophobic with no natural light, and there is no where to be outside or in the fresh air such as a balcony.

The biggest problem was clunky doors and door closers, as the back packers is obviously a refurbished office space there is no way to leave the door open and no way to close it quietly. The doors constantly clunk shut. They are very difficult to lock leading to repeated opening and shutting and the door handle to the lounge is broken.

If I could have chosen not to stay I would have however I was bound by the first night no cancellation clause. I have emailed Central Backpackers with my feedback and they have not contacted me in reply.

apparently this place is cheap but I paid $70 for one night stay two people which is the same as actually nice backpackers like Hogwartz

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicnichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Nice central location, right in the city centre, only minutes from supermarkets and shops and library (free wifi). Small but modern-feeling, with large kitchen-and-dining and comfy lounge, complete with PS3. Rooms had lockers and were quiet at night, despite being in said city centre. Limited wifi given on arrival, enough for checking emails and FB. Only downsides would be having to cross the lounge to get anywhere (and therefore disturb people watching) and the showers and toilets all being in the same bathroom.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Unfortunately, I didn't enjoy my stay here. The location is really central and it's cheap so if that's all you've after you'll be ok.
However it's very noisy, there's no double glazing so you've kept awake by the noise on the streets. The whole place just didn't feel very clean. The bathrooms and kitchen are in need of some refurbishment to smarten and brighten them up. The TV is in a silly place right in the entrance so you have to walk in front of it to get to the bathrooms. I found it hard to relax and wouldn't go back there

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is the second time I've stayed here. The last time was about a year ago and my experience was nearly the same. I only stayed one night and only needed to use the kitchen for breakfast. Beds are comfy and sturdy. Shower pressure is great and everything is clean. The general atmosphere is cosy and the cat "Gizmo" is a nice touch. The lounge is really cool and I like the general lay-out of the place. It doesn't bother me having to walk through the lounge to get to the bathrooms. (ie. for the dorms on the right side) Not having to carry a key and just remember a door code is a good idea too. I would stay here again, and the only reason they don't get five dots from me is because there's no spa pool, or free soup at night, or computers, and there is a bit of lack of storage space. However, none of this prevented me from enjoying my stay as I was only there one night, but could easily stay a week. Overall, I've found that all hostel receptionists in Dunedin aren't really giving top service. They're not really that informed nor do they go out of their way to call another hostel should they be full when you ask for a bed. I asked the other receptionist about where the cheapest bars in Dunedin were and he wasn't able to give me a very helpful answer without me having to ask more questions. Not a very good representative for Dunedin. One of the best things about backpackers is the central location, and this is really what ultimately sells it. Yep! Give it a go!

Room Tip: I liked room #3 It was a dorm with six beds (three bunks) and is close to the kitchen, but a little...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.3 mi away
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
#55 of 61 in Dunedin
108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Motel on York
Motel on York
#25 of 61 in Dunedin
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
#40 of 61 in Dunedin
387 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Backpackers Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Backpackers Dunedin

Address: 243 Moray Place, Dunedin, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Dunedin
Price Range: $18 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the centre of town, Central is minutes walk from most of the attractions, pubs and restaurants in Dunedin! FREE WIFI internet for guests, PlayStation3, Bluray, DVD. Recently renovated with great beds and excellent showers, the friendly local staff are happy to help you with info on the city and its things to see and do. All linen included, complementary tea and coffee, free WIFI available. Relax with a DVD or game in our TV lounge or step outside to explore Dunedin's busy nightlife! Check-in before 9pm, check-out before 10am (unless arranged otherwise). We have a lovely indoor cat, Gizmo :)Minutes walk (within 2-3 blocks, or closer!) from:- Cadbury's Chocolate Factory- Speight's Brewery- The Dunedin Public Art Gallery.- 'Hair Raiser' historical 'ghost' tours- 3 movie theatres- 3 shopping malls, 2 supermarkets- The main strip for Dunedin's pubs and clubs!We are situated on the corner of the main shopping street in Dunedin. Tours to the peninsula leave from outside the Visitor's Centre and Town Hall, just across the street from here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Central Backpackers Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing